We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline(Dunfermline)(Great Value!)
USD 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 126
USD 122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmule House(Dunfermline)
USD 184
USD 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 97
USD 69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 120
USD 107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garvock House Hotel(Dunfermline)
USD 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
49
56
37
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
56
37
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain assetgood nights sleepforth road bridgetea and coffeeon arrivalfrom start to finishvisiting edinburghno liftyogurtself servicestayed for nightsyorkiescotlandradiatorpeelroundaboutdiners
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Overall the hotel was ‘okay’ overall... it needs modernisation, especially in the dining areas. The staff are exceptional - they couldn’t do enough and were always friendly. In any case...

PRO
* Clean
* Excellent service
* Large rooms
* Big comfy, cool bed(s)
* Lots of USB slots
* Centrally located
* Easy walk to town
* Lots of parking
* Easy to find
* Waitress could not do enough

CON
* Long wait for hot water to come through
* Soap dispensers empty
* Tired decor (looks like not updated since late 80s early 90s)
* Prison like layout and design (grey brick walls and large imposing room doors in corridor ‘cell’ style - flip side; very secure
* Very little to no variation on daily menu
* Dirty cutlery
* A little too long to wait for some meals
* Muzak in restaurant same every night and was late 80s light rock/pop awfulness
* Food recommendations misleading

So I would stay here again, but only because it’s convenient for work....

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This was our third visit to a Peel Hotels' hotel on their Winter golden ticket arrangement and we shall be going again. Their central administration through Wendy is extremely personable and efficient. We went to the King Malcolm because we like Edinburgh but were unfamiliar with the Kingdom of Fife. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very conveniently located close to the new, and beautiful, Forth road bridge, and the network of motorways which lead to it. Fife, its coastline of working fishing villages and St Andrews with all its traditions and history, were charming, unrushed and distinctive. We probably under-estimated the possibilities of Dunfermline itself, which is a busy, attractive town, with many historical sites and associations and fascinating accounts concerning Robert the Bruce and Andrew Carnegie, who was a simple weaver's son but grew to be the world's richest man and greatest benefactor of his age.
The hotel's own ample car park was a mile down a dual carriageway to Rosyth station car park, with ample free car parking, and half hourly trains into the heart of Edinburgh. Having a senior railcard, the return off-peak journey cost £3.75!

Beyond its location, the hotel itself had two major assets -its staff and its food. The staff, to a person, were attentive without being fussy, pleasant, personable and helpful. The food was excellent, well-prepared and -presented, hot, not skimpy and of excellent quality.
These three features were outstanding, which is why I am so positive despite what I say later.

The accommodation was clean and the rooms had all the necessary facilities, although we had daily variability in the provision of milk, sugar and towels Our bed was large and comfortable, but the room felt a little bare and functional. The decor and furnishings in the rest of the hotel were sometimes tired and worn. The dining area in particular, though tidy, seemed fairly basic, and we were surprised that a large group of soon-to-be diners was allowed to congregate noisily on the edge of the dining area, spoiling the atmosphere.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank martinjolly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

What can i say but prise this hotel. The staff make it making you feel welcome from the fist step in the door.
Very dog friendly and simply could not do enough whether 4 legged or two.
Food is superb, especially break fast.
On a very minor negative room was a little in need of some TLC, but this said spotless.
We will defiantly be staying again, when ever the opportunity arises.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank geek256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights visiting family, cannot fault any of it, the welcome, room, service, friendliness, price, food, it was brilliant thank you to management and staff, ps very dog friendly too Rowley the Tea cup Yorkie loved it

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pompey1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

I am a Social Care Worker and as such work in a service provided 365 days a year. We don’t shut up shop over the festive period and it’s not easy to organise a works night out as the service must continue so hence the review only being written now. The King Malcolm Hotel was our chosen venue for our Christmas Night out. We booked it well in advance and paid our deposit ,on doing so we were informed by their staff that the big function room was not fully booked out and that if this was still the case we may either cancel or accept to be moved into smaller room. The hotel staff at reception assured us we would hear by e-mail regarding this issue. We heard nothing and it was only when one of my colleagues popped in to pay the balance that he was told we were being moved to small room. He let the reception staff know that no e-mail had been sent and that it was far too late to book elsewhere. Apologies were given by reception staff and as a token of such 3 bottles of wine would be placed on our dinner table. We arrived on the evening of the 8th December. The meal was sub-standard. Turkey can only be described as rubber cut from a roll of processed cold meat fit for a dogs dinner. My dog eats better !The tomato on top of this was rather erm unusual! I can truly say I’ve had better at a local carvery for a fiver. The vegetarian offering I’m told was brick hard. The sweet was bone dry. So far as I’m aware the only acceptable dish was the prawn starter. There was no sight of the promised wine on the table. The same colleague who had paid the balance and was told the wine would be on our table as token of apology enquired as to the wines whereabouts. The waitress stated she knew nothing of it but would go find out. That’s when the so called assistant manager appeared. His manner was confrontational and down right appalling. My colleague was questioned and made out to be a liar ! The assistant manager bent over, his face in my colleague’s face saying that would never have been said. My colleague was asked for receptionist’s name and description that had offered the wine. It was truly a disgrace. I now see why the King Malcolm was not booked out ! The assistant manager left us and the waitresses placed the 3 bottles of wine on our table. We never saw the assistant manager again. No apologies were offered from him.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank hazelmark6567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews