We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 am - 11:57 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Easy transport

Clean quick and excellent value for money...easy to purchase tickets with lots of convenient stops... read more

Reviewed yesterday
sweetprince
,
portsmouth
via mobile
Convenient way to travel

We caught the tram from outside the airport when we arrived in Edinburgh. There was a staff member... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Dimitris L
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 657 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Edinburgh
from USD 16.84
More Info
from USD 16.84
More Info
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
371
151
53
38
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
151
53
38
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews york place city centre day ticket tram system return ticket smooth ride princes street murrayfield stadium family ticket lothian bus buy tickets journey haymarket stops platform coins route
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Took the tram from Edinburgh Aiport and was so impressed. It runs every few minutes so don't worry if you miss one. If returning to the airport buy an open return ticket which is cheaper. Fantastic transportation.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank BlackPanda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula K, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for your review, BlackPanda. It was short but sweet!
See you again next time.

Best Regards
Roula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Seems a strange paying system for a tourist as no change given, android or Apple pay was over a certain amount that I hadn't reached. The journey was fast and lots of information on board.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Brian_W_Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoulaKokoliou, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hello Brian, thank you for your honest review. Unfortunately, we need to impose a minimum spend on card/contactless transactions to offset bank charges and keep our fares low. The no change policy was introduced to deter crime, as we have an open network and if the ticket machines carried too much cash, they would be a target for thieves.
We try to make our processes as easy and intuitive as possible, however I appreciate that this wasn't the case for you and I will pass your comments on. I am glad you otherwise had a positive experience with us.

Best regards,
Roula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Regular trams only one line so easy to get to where you need to be for tourists in the city. Run till very late so no rushing to catch the last one.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Bondy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoulaKokoliou, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks for your five-star review Bondy, it was short but sweet!

See you again next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Very good connection from and to airport. Was in Edinburgh for a business trip, took tram from Airport to my office in Bankhead and then to City Centre and back to Airport. Very comfortable and timely journey. Will be using tram whenever I am in Edinburgh.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank himsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Hi himsh

Thanks for the 5 star review, I'm glad you like us and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

David L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Travelled from Airport into town centre and have to say it was smooth fast and uncrowded experience and surely a great alternative to the bus. Service every 7 minutes and left on time. Only issue I had is whilst purchasing a ticket the machine does not accept notes, only coins and cards with no adjacent change machine this could cause difficulties. In this day and age.......

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank DavidM299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Hi David
Thank you for taking the time to review our service, I'm glad you liked us.

We have staff deployed at the Airport who can handle cash sales for visitors who may need help with our ticket machines.
Hope to see you back on the trams soon.

Kind regards

David L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews