We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way into Edinburgh but ticketing experience needs work ”
Review of Edinburgh Trams

Edinburgh Trams
Ranked #75 of 449 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Edinburgh Trams is the award winning operator of the city’s tramway with a vision to be an integral part of the future success of Edinburgh and the Lothians by providing world-class, environmentally-friendly and socially-inclusive transport. With services from every three minutes to 16 locations across the city and by connecting Edinburgh Airport to the heart of the city in under 35 minutes, Edinburgh Trams offer a high quality transport choice for residents and visitors to the city. The addition of new services, industry-leading levels of customer service and a range of dynamic initiatives have all contributed to Edinburgh’s tramway becoming one of the UK’s most successful transport systems.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

When driving in from Glasgow, it’s a great way to a stress free parking /visit to Edinburgh centre. Dump the car at Ingliston and jump on the tram. I say ‘jump on’ but buying a ticket can be a pain when there are many folk on the platform queuing at the machines. I know it’s only 8 mins between trams but it is frustrating when you’re standing on the platform in good time, a tram arrives, then disappears...without you on it...as you’re still standing in the ticket machine queue. Impatience and anxiety levels rise with people trying to buy/understand machine/prices...I know you have an app but there must be a quicker, slicker and better user experience transacting on/near the platform.

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Paul

Thank you for the review. We do try to deploy staff to sell tickets at the park and ride on busy days, I'm sorry we were not up to speed on the day you travelled.

There is a Ticket Kiosk in the car park but unfortunately it is currently being refurbished but should be back up and running soon.

I hope you still enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh on the tram and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"york place"
in 40 reviews
"city centre"
in 94 reviews
"day ticket"
in 34 reviews
"tram system"
in 21 reviews
"return ticket"
in 18 reviews
"smooth ride"
in 12 reviews
"princes street"
in 41 reviews
"single ticket"
in 6 reviews
"murrayfield stadium"
in 9 reviews
"family ticket"
in 9 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 9 reviews
"conductor"
in 35 reviews
"journey"
in 66 reviews
"haymarket"
in 24 reviews
"stops"
in 67 reviews
"platform"
in 24 reviews
"route"
in 33 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Took the tram from Edinburgh Aiport and was so impressed. It runs every few minutes so don't worry if you miss one. If returning to the airport buy an open return ticket which is cheaper. Fantastic transportation.

1  Thank BlackPanda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula K, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for your review, BlackPanda. It was short but sweet!
See you again next time.

Best Regards
Roula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Seems a strange paying system for a tourist as no change given, android or Apple pay was over a certain amount that I hadn't reached. The journey was fast and lots of information on board.

Thank Brian_W_Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoulaKokoliou, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hello Brian, thank you for your honest review. Unfortunately, we need to impose a minimum spend on card/contactless transactions to offset bank charges and keep our fares low. The no change policy was introduced to deter crime, as we have an open network and if the ticket machines carried too much cash, they would be a target for thieves.
We try to make our processes as easy and intuitive as possible, however I appreciate that this wasn't the case for you and I will pass your comments on. I am glad you otherwise had a positive experience with us.

Best regards,
Roula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Regular trams only one line so easy to get to where you need to be for tourists in the city. Run till very late so no rushing to catch the last one.

Thank Bondy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoulaKokoliou, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks for your five-star review Bondy, it was short but sweet!

See you again next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Very good connection from and to airport. Was in Edinburgh for a business trip, took tram from Airport to my office in Bankhead and then to City Centre and back to Airport. Very comfortable and timely journey. Will be using tram whenever I am in Edinburgh.

Thank himsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Customer Relations Officer at Edinburgh Trams, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Hi himsh

Thanks for the 5 star review, I'm glad you like us and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

David L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Trams also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Trams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing