We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Produce”
Review of The Kitchin

The Kitchin
Ranked #45 of 2,454 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: USD 0 - USD 199
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Leith
Description: The Kitchin presents modern British seasonal cuisine influenced by French cooking techniques and an appreciation of the best quality ingredients available from Scotland's fantastic natural larder. The restaurant’s philosophy ‘From Nature to Plate’, is a true reflection of Tom’s passion for the finest, freshest Scottish seasonal produce and the cooking at the restaurant reflects Tom’s training under some of the world’s best chefs blended with his own Scottish heritage.
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This is a great fine dining experience in Edinburgh. Using only locally sourced produce, the dishes are well executed and nice rich flavours come through. The portions are surprisingly large here. We left absolutely full. The service is warm and genuine and the interior of the restaurant is tastefully decorated. This is somewhere to come if you feel like treating yourself. Worth every penny for the experience.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,814 - 1,818 of 4,081 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2016

From the very first moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome with the Famous Chef himself meeting and greeting. We had a 9.15 booking and so we were taken first to the bar where we ordered two house cocktails which were very nice. The whole meal from start to finish was a truly amazing culinary adventure, we went for the Chefs tasting menu with chosen wines which at £135 may seem a large amount to pay for a meal, but we were very glad to fork out at the end of the night, with both myself and my partner tasting food we never have and never will again taste. We also were invited to the pass to again meet Tom Kitchin and see behind the scenes. All in all and amazing and well deserved Michelin starred meal and experience

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chriswilmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Beautiful eating place but very disappointed in meal as the partridge I ordered was tough. I reported this and was told my complaint would be passed on to the chef but no further action was taken.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

The food was amazing! However, the wait staff is constantly trying to up sell you on for dishes that have additional charges beyond the fixed plate menu without informing you of the additional cost. Also to note, you have to get a fixed price a la carte or seasonal menu meal. You can't just get a main.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Brittany983675
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2016

They have 2 different tasting menus - Classic and Seasonal, we had one of each. We were given a map of where each seafood/meat came from at the start of the meal. All the dishes were very good, we especially liked their scallops, langoustines and razor clams.

Prices for tasting menus and wine pairing are very reasonable (almost a bargain!) for a restaurant at this level.

The dining room is dimly lit; the service is professional (more formal than friendly).

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wy413
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Kitchin also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Kitchin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.