We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“First or second-best in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Passorn

Passorn
Ranked #159 of 2,417 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Level Contributor
226 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“First or second-best in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Jury is out in my house. Is this or Thai Lemon Grass ( just around corner) the best? Certainly both win out over any others in Edinburgh. All my mates are south Asian foodees and we love these. Fish dishes are recommended, seafood next. Good choice of reasonable wine too.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Igithaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    122
    41
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I ate at Passorn tonight on the recommendation of a colleague. The food was quite simply A M A Z I N G! Golly what a fantastic combination of tastes - portion sizes just right and service very good (tho a bit brisk when we arrived but the lady softened!). We will absolutely return as the food is just a delight!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scotbokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing. Up there with the very best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Tried this place last night and have to say, it's the best far eastern food I've had since coming back from Japan.

Scallops and tempura for starters. Packed with flavour and tempura light as a feather. (Tempura is usually a good gauge. If it's not done well, it's truly horrible.)

Mains were the lamb shank which just fell off the bone and melted in the mouth and monkfish which was just .... incredible. Accompanied buy feathersoft noodles and perfect fluffy rice.

Service was fantastic. Every member of staff was friendly, smiling and helpful.

Not the cheapest in the world maybe but not expensive compared to some places in Edinburgh are the cost is absolutely justified by the quality of food and the service provided.

Can't fault them. These guys have got to be nudging michelin star quality if my visit was anything to go by.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinSMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

great service, nice chilled vibe and great food. Have eaten in what was supposed to be the best thai restaurant in USA and the highly rated Thai bird in Amsterdam several times and this place serves nicer food. Best thia place in Edinburgh, hands down.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coconut-monkey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Amazing food and service, best Thai food I've had outside of Thailand!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sezforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passorn also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Passorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing