We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy and convenient.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cooperage

View From Over The Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From Over The Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
View From Over The Water
Kitchen
Bedroom And View Through The Patio Doors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
alexandra...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location but property needs appropriate maintenance”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The location was great with a bus to nearly all locations in Edinburgh a minute away. It had numerous restaurants and cafes at the doorstep and was a short, pleasant stroll to Ocean terminal. The property itself however needs considerable maintenance, with broken blinds, horrendous noise from the cistern when you flushed the toilet, damaged trim work in the kitchen and painting. The lounge furniture and bed were not comfortable. To top it off, you could only have a warm (not hot) shower in the morning as the water was not hot in the evening.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Apologies for any issues you felt you had with your stay at The Cooperage and I hope it never effected your overall holiday. To reply to each of the points that have been made :-
Since you have brought to our attention that there was some broken blinds, they have been now been replaced by new blinds throughout.
The shower is an electric power shower and it does not matter what time of the day the shower is used the shower temperature is set using the temperature gauge on the shower controls.
The cistern has a valve that controls the flow of water and this looks like it was adjusted by a previous occupier as I had to adjust it back when I was inspecting the property, this ensures there is no noise coming from the cistern when it is flushed.
Having had just short of 100 travellers stay at the Cooperage this is the first time anyone has mentioned the lounge furniture and bed not being comfortable.
Now that this has been brought to our attention it is something that we will be observing with all new bookings going forward as the Cooperage is very popular and there are many travellers still to stay.
Of course if during the 2 week stay we had been contacted I would gladly have came to the Cooperage at a convenient time and quickly made any adjustments required or advised you how to adjust this quite easily over the phone.
Regards Drew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizz56201...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy and convenient.”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The location was perfect for me and had a great view of the picturesque Shore area of Leith.

The apartment was cosy and had everything needed. The communication with the owner was first rate. Would definitely use again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda p
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the cooperage. It was perfect, comfortable, great location and view and so close to all the shops, great little bars and restaurants. We will definitely book to go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrick25...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All you would want right on the Shore.”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

great location on The Shore, comfortable with all mod cons and clean, good shared off street parking, very near all amenities including shops and access to regular buses to/from Edinburgh.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millerwin...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great time in Edinburgh,The apartment had lovely views over looking the river. A very clean and well equipped kitchen. parking if needed but also close to the bus stop. Good communication from the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing