We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
36
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
7
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been staying here for several years at festival time & have always had a very warm welcome from Penny & Rick. It is a great B&B. The room is comfortable & a good size. The breakfasts are wonderful especially Penny's scrambled egg. It is well located in the Georgian new town & close to Princes Street. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetking65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent two nights in Edinburgh at 38 Dublin Street with Richard and Penny. Their house is a World Heritage Site, and it was more interesting than we could have imagined. Our room had large windows, opening on a beautiful courtyard full of beautiful flowers and shrubs. They served a delicious and beautifully prepared breakfast our first morning and for our early departure at 6:00 am the following day, they left a lovely fresh fruit platter and croissants with butter and jam in the refrigerator in our room, complete with china dishes and cloth napkins. It is convenient to many restaurants and pubs and within easy walking distance to the Royal Mile for sightseeing. As an added bonus, Richard worked for ten years mapping both the Artic circle and Antarctica with dog teams, so he had very interesting stories to tell us.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JO ANN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Every trip, it seems, we meet someone we'd like to return to stay with again and again. This trip it was Penny Airey and her family at No. 38 Dublin Street. The room we had was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were filling and well-prepared. But the icing on this nice little B&B is Penny - a ray of sunshine even when it was overcast outside.

The B&B is a little walk-down from Dublin Street that was quiet despite the tramway construction going on at the intersection (once the tram from the airport is up and running to this part of New Town, Dublin Street is going to be a very good location for B&Bs). Even now, it's only a couple minutes walk from the Waverley Street station.

It's nicely located for dinner in New Town (Henderson's and the other restaurants on Hanover Street are about two blocks away) and for art lovers, the National Portrait Gallery is a block and a half up Dublin Street. Calton Hill, High Street and even the Botanical Garden are an easy walk from the B&B.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I usually have pretty good luck selecting accommodations when I travel, but I was especially fortunate to have stumbled upon Penny and Richard's B&B. My daughter and I spent six nights there and couldn't have been happier. Our room was large, lovely, and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious feasts that kept us going during hours of walking, and both Richard and Penny served beautifully presented plates with graciousness and wonderful conversation without being at all intrusive. Both my daughter and I felt that an important part of our stay in Edinburgh was meeting such lovely people--indeed, I wish we had been able to get to know them better and hope to see them again on some future visit. Both were happy to offer advice to their guests, but more valuable than that was their willingness to share something of themselves. The house is an inviting combination of charm and comfort in a neighborhood that is excellently located for a visit to Edinburgh, but the B&B itself can't compare to the people who run it--we feel fortunate to have crossed paths with Penny, Richard, and their family. I hope we do again.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

38 Dublin Street is in a great location for looking around Edinburgh, by foot or by bus, with the plus of being very quiet and away from the noise of the busy main streets. 1 minute from the fascinating Scottish National Portrait Gallery, 5 minutes from Waverley station and 5 minutes from Princes Street or St James centre for shopping. The triple (family) room was large and very comfortable with a huge settee to relax and watch tv. The breakfast was delicious, with haggis, or pancakes, or drop scones as an extra. Perfect hosts. In fact just perfect altogether...

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suegeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews