We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Pickering's Gin Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 12.88*
and up
1-hour Pickering's Gin Jolly Distillery Tour and...
Ranked #11 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Pickering's Gin is distilled by hand at the Summerhall Distillery, Edinburgh's first exclusive gin distillery to open in 150 years. We are delighted to host guided tours and tastings. Please visit our website to book a tour and to check availability. Tours last approximately 60 minutes. For a mere £10 a head you can: - See how hand crafted, small batch gin is made - Marvel at the botanicals room, still and bottling line - Sample all three Pickering's gin expressions - Enjoy a Pickering's & Tonic from the gin tap at The Royal Dick bar - Explore the labyrinth of exhibitions and events within Summerhall Summerhall Distillery.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great experience. Perfect for a stag do or hen do. The people are extremely friendly. Our tour guide, Victoria, was brilliant. It was her birthday and she even had a shot of gin with us! Really informative, and it's the best gin I have ever tried.

You may struggle to find this hidden gem, but they did give me very good instructions on there e-mails on how to find the place.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank heatrjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gin tonic"
in 20 reviews
"great tour"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 56 reviews
"knew her stuff"
in 11 reviews
"distilling process"
in 7 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 11 reviews
"tour starts"
in 8 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 10 reviews
"visiting edinburgh"
in 13 reviews
"ask questions"
in 6 reviews
"enjoyable tour"
in 6 reviews
"dick"
in 62 reviews
"history"
in 207 reviews
"navy"
in 17 reviews
"company"
in 36 reviews
"tenner"
in 9 reviews
"school"
in 20 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With gin firmly on the rise in Edinburgh, we thought we'd book a tour of a local distillery. As Pickering's was a gin we were unfamiliar with, we thought we'd give it a go. The ticket price was very reasonable, and the online booking process was easy.

The distillery itself is not the easiest place to find! It's in the Summerhall complex, approximately a 15-20 minute walk from the Royal Mile. Once you find the building it is reasonably well signposted - you walk out through a courtyard and into The Royal Dick bar. Let the staff behind the bar know you're there for the tour, and they'll present you with a gin and tonic while you wait for the tour to start.

The tour is held in one room - the same room that the stills themselves are in. Our tour guide Jenny was engaging and funny, and clearly knew the history of both Pickering's and gin to a T (excuse the bad pun). We learned a lot of things about the process that surprised us, and despite the intimate setting it wasn't awkward or cramped. At the very end of the tour you are given three small samples of gin, neat, and then you have the option to purchase some items from their small on site shop. The prices are very reasonable, and they have a good selection of gins.

Overall, I'd say that this tour is brilliant value for money. It's only a tenner, and an hour out of your day - what do you have to lose?

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Annika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyable afternoon, great value for money - g and t on arrival, great talk through the history of gin in general and Pickerings in particular, followed by a tasting of 3 gins, all for a tenner and delivered with wit, enthusiasm and passion by the lovely Victoria, oh and the gins are great too !

Heartily recommended to anyone.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 442LeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Summerhall Distillery for the 4pm tour. We were quickly greeted with our complimentary gin & tonic which was gratefully received. We then moved on to the tour of the distillery led by Victoria. She was very knowledgeable & made the tour very enjoyable. The distillery is very small but the information given made the tour well worth the money.
At the end of the tour we had a tasting session with 3 of Pickering’s gins. This was fab!
We had the added bonus of being introduced to one of the founders of the distillery who was working at the site. Nice to put a face to the name!
Would definitely recommend!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Michelled8293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed the tour here and amazing to see such a small but perfectly formed distillery why learning about both Pickerings and the history of gin itself. Well worth doing for both the information and gin tastings.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DanFlyingSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistilleryManager, Guest Relations Manager at Pickering's Gin Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Dan for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time during your visit, and I was so excited to see your travel blog published which includes our distillery tour in it! I am so pleased that you had such a good time, and your day in Edinburgh looked so wonderful! Cheers, Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pickering's Gin Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Pickering's Gin Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing