We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, slight admin issues”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room
Bay window over dining area in the sitting room. Slate fire place with gas fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Sitting room
Bay window over dining area in the sitting room.
Slate fire place with gas fire.
Ling size bed with white robes.
Quiet King size bedroom overlooking the  peaceful the gardens.
Kitchen with nespresso, dishwasher and washer/dryer.
Bathroom
Good shower pressure!
Single bedroom over looking the gardens at the back of the house.
Bay window side view of St Bernard's crescent
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrsqm
Pyrenees-Orientales, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, slight admin issues”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This flat is very well located for those who, like us, like city walking. We didn't use a bus at any stage and felt healthier, fitter and calmer walking the 'Fringe'.
We chose Tripadvisor having had problems with our earlier arrangements. I was not happy not seeing the contract until ALL the money was paid (there could have been issues we needed to investigate).
The owner responded promptly to all enquiries.
Frustratingly/sadly there ended up being 4 different arrangements about the key collection, the last of which was not communicated to us. Being terribly British we were waiting outside the flat at the appointed time (and having had to wait 3 hours after arrival from France) only ringing the owner when it rained - to discover the keys were awaiting us inside. As my husband said, how long would we have had to wait if it hadn't rained???
The flat is lovely - the bathroom is the only downside being very small but when there are only 2 of you, its not too bad.
We had a late (4pm) check-in and an early (10.00am) check out - both would have been nicer shifted one hour either way (fully appreciate the difficulties of festival change over pressures but one or the other shifted a bit would have been preferred!!)
Other nice touches: bathrobes, milk provided (sadly we didn't know and had bought milk from the highly convenient Sainsbury's while waiting to get in); good brochure about the flat and locality (needed to tell you which WIFI server you are on as it takes time to work through all the local provisions)
Overall a good investment!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location, local ammenities
Liked least: Checkin times and checkin arrangements
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
Your feedback is appreciated as we always hope to give our guests the best possible experience. Unfortunately you didn't pick up the email detailing the key collection so contingency plans had to be put in place to ensure you received the key as you arrived. Fortunately you had my mobile number and all went to plan. We always try to give out guests flexible entry and leaving times where possible but accommodating your arrival on a Sunday in the middle of festival time, bearing in mind that our care taking staff are required to maintain the highest of standards, mean't we had to ask for a 4 pm entry and a 10 am departure, but that is thankfully very rare.
We always leave a pint of milk, tea coffee and grocery basics( flour, sugar, oil , salt, pepper etc) for our guests if they wish to use them.
I am pleased you had such an enjoyable time at the Edinburgh festival and hope we see you back in the future. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gyrimor
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly placed”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a bit apprehensive because the keys didn't arrive as planned (they were in my mail when I came back), we had a great welcome. The owner's son arrived as arranged via sms with the keys, and as a bonus he carried our suitcases up the stairs, and informed us he was on hand to help with any problems. The flat is beautiful. The light falls into it and makes everything stand out in a flattering way. We went into the communal garden, with it's drying green. The bathroom is lovely, everything working and water pressure very good, not a given in the UK. The decor was aiming for serenity, and it worked on me, a restless person. Seeing the pictures I just want to go back. We've never been on a self-catering holiday before, and it was a great experience. The only thing we missed was a corkscrew/bottelopener. Lovely area, lovely flat, shops just down the road, No problem! <3

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the natural light fell into the rooms.
Liked least: To leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena260
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Edinburgh for my birthday and having trawled the internet for apartments I was delighted with my choice. The apartment is spacious and very tastefully decorated, it was a lovely environment in which to relax. There were 5 of us and we comfortably stayed using the sofa bed in the living room. The bathroom was well finished with a good shower. The kitchen was very clean and had everything we needed.

Stockbridge is a lovely part of Edinburgh and this apartment is ideally located with a great selection of cafés, restaurants and bars at the end of the road. The city centre is just a five minute walk.

My only complaint was that the taxi driver seemed to have some difficulty finding the apartment. I will definitely stay here next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2014
Hi Sheena
So pleased you and your family enjoyed staying in our holiday apartment . In response to the taxi driver locating the property , if you tell the taxi driver the street number rather than the detail of the apartment number then they have no problem locating the apartment.

Hope to see you back staying with us again soon
Best wishes
Raewyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing