We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 Hart Street
Nearby Hotels
USD 203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
USD 393
USD 370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 164
USD 133
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
USD 203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
USD 128
USD 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 146
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 287
USD 262
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 299/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 256
USD 190
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
USD 273
USD 254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 295/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 984
USD 764
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
859
39
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
859
39
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostscomplimentary winequiet streethosts james and angelalovely homewithin walking distancebreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastfriendly hostshighly recommend this b byogurtgeorgian housespent two nightsroyal milemodern bathroomeach morningtrain station
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 904 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Excellent B&B with charming hosts. Our room was clean, comfortable, elegant and traditional, with the much appreciated convince of a modern bathroom. This location is ideal for exploring Edinburgh and very close to transportation. Angela and James were lovely hosts, providing a wonderful breakfast each morning and local insights.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank renee10802017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This small B&B is in a great location - close to the center of Edinburgh, but quiet. There's no sign outside to indicate it's a guest house (pay attention to the numbers or you might just walk right past it in puzzlement).

The owners are extremely friendly and the place is elegant. It's a small B&B with only three (I think) bedrooms. Ours was en-suite.

Pros:
Breakfast was worth every penny (this place is not cheap, but nothing is in Edinburgh unless you go off season). Excellent full breakfast.
Room was extremely attractive and very clean.
Comfortable beds.
Great location.
Good wi-fi.
Whisky and wine in your room.

Cons:
The room was somewhat lacking in surfaces to put things on.
The PLUMBING. We affectionately referred to our shower as "The engine room" due to the four different valves and the interesting rumbling that sounded when it was turned on. One of the valves administers cold water directly to your face and upper body. The only possible reason for this I could come up with was that it was for if you drank too much scotch the night before... If you have lousy uncorrected vision, turning that on by accident is entirely too easy. Which at least gave the place amusing character! The multiple attempts to flush the toilet every time, however... I'd have given this place five stars if it wasn't for this.

Things to consider:
Breakfast is served around one large table, family style. If you like meeting people on vacation, this is awesome (I liked it), but if you'd rather sit off in a corner on your own or with your partner...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartstreet, Owner at 14 Hart Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. My wife and I had no idea that you had any difficulties with the plumbing here and that this was such a significant issue for you. Many of our guests very much relish the large, powerful and hot shower to which you refer and I did, as I recall, demonstrate how to flush the wc. It is somewhat disheartening to hear about all of this after the event, so to speak, and then only through the medium of Trip Advisor. It would have been so much more productive and friendlier to have aired all of this at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This is an elegant but homely B&B in a quiet street very near the tram terminus. This makes it easy to get to and from the airport and for getting down to Princes Street. We prefer to be in Georgian new town, but with easy access to the Festival hubbub.
The room was comfortable and quiet.The added bonus is being given fresh milk in the room for the early morning cuppa. The breakfasts are excellent, all tastes catered for.
The hosts, James and Angela, are friendly, charming and non-intrusive. They helped with good restaurant recommendations. We have booked again for next year.....obviously!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank _farrerjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We had a wonderful double room with an all-new bathroom. Hosts were really friendly and did their utmost to make us feel comfortable. The B&B is located only two streets from York Place which is only a 30-minutes ride on the tram from the Edinburgh airport. Although centrally located the place is very quiet. We would definitely go there again! Thanks, James and Angela. We really enjoyed our stay with you!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank infoS2144QB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay with our daughter at 14 Hart Street .
I think we can also concur with other reviewers who compliment James and Angela on their lovely Georgian home.
If you want a lovely base handy for all the delights of Edinburgh but in a quiet road this is the place to stay.

We had two lovely rooms both double rooms with one with a lovely bath and shower the other with a lovely spacious walk in shower .

The breakfasts are delicious and cooked to order by Angela so all fresh and tasty.
If you have questions on Edinburgh or advice Angela and James will assist their guests .
We look forward to another visit in the near future.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Flinty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews