We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

As you can see there are already several brilliant reviews of this place, and they are all justified! I arranged a stay here as a weekend away for my boyfriend's christmas as a treat and it was absolutely lovely. Upon arrival we were greeted by Angela and James who showed us to our rooms, gave us recommendations on restaurants and things to go see (something they continued to do which was very helpful). The room was great, everything freshly laid with the nice touch of a nightcap and tea to use in the room. In the morning there was a great breakfast to sort us for the day and we were left to come and go as we wanted. Honestly can't fault anything, it was a lovely stay. Thank you James and Angela.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jocelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
95
551
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

After looking at reviews on tripadvisor we were certainly not disappointed with 14 Hart St, perfectly located for the city centre, a quiet street but within easy walking distance to the main attractions. Free parking (weekends) right outside the front door. A beautiful building inside and out. Spacious modern bedrooms yet still maintaining traditional features. Spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable bed, best nights sleep I've ever had. Fabulous powerful shower. Complimentary wine and whisky a very nice touch, tea, coffee and scrumptious biscuits also. James and Angela were marvelous hosts, very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast of the finest ingredients served in a beautiful dining room really does set you up for the day, you will not need to eat again until dinner! We really enjoyed our stay here and will most definatley be back when we next visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Fantastc place, made very welcome by James and Angela. They helped sort out the underground vault trip that my girlfriend has heard about.

Wine and biscuits in the room, went down very well (unfortunately neither of us like whiskey, so that was untouched). Cooked breakfasts were lovely and neither really needed lunch after them.

As one of the poor reviews mentioned I can confirm that the tv is quite small, but as we never turned it on, I've no idea how many channels it can receive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lqwzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just back from a weekend in Edinburgh for my husbands birthday. We stay in Edinburgh a lot and from now on we simply won't look any further than 14 Hart Street for our accommodation. James and Angela are so welcoming and their home is simply stunning.
Our room was lovely. Bed so comfy, Huge walk in multi directional shower which was so good I had about 6 showers throughout the weekend, simply awesome. The room was extremly quiet and recipe 2 cracking nights sleep. And our presents were lovely, a decanter of Scotch whisky a bottle of wine, chocs and the most delicious cookies.
Breakfast was a treat with delicious cereals fruit and yoghurt and a cooked breakfast fit for a king, simply delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 14 hart Street and simply won't look any further for all future trips.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nic0laf0gg0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Very good location near facilities and city centre. Very high quality room, good breakfast and all round very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilbury33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $904 - $1,145
Hotel Class:4 star — 14 Hart Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing