We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveller rating
876
39
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
39
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts complimentary wine quiet street hosts james and angela breakfast was delicious within walking distance lovely home bed and breakfast friendly hosts highly recommend this b b georgian house yogurt royal mile each morning train station modern bathroom power shower
Filter
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 921 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My partner and I spent 3 nights at 14 Hart Street, having read reviews on tripadvisor - we weren't disappointed. James gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our wonderful room. The bed was very comfortable, the room was beautiful, the bathroom was a good size (with a great shower) and there was complimentary wine and scotch. Everything was cleaned daily, the breakfasts were delicious and very filling (we never needed lunch!) and the hosts were friendly and always on hand to help. A fantastic place!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soundfondler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a lovely time at 14 Hart Street. We couldn't fault it in any way. Whilst there are only a handful of guest rooms, the property itself is very spacious and elegant. In many ways it felt more like a luxury boutique hotel than a b&b in the traditional sense. The rooms are beautiful, even more so than in the photos. The dining room was a particular highlight and the breakfast itself was excellent with a full range of choice from any variation of cooked breakfasts through to cereals and pancakes. The hosts were extremely friendly, welcoming and attentive from start to finish.

It is in the perfect location, you can reach the Old town or any part of New town in 5-10 minutes. We also discovered (thanks to the very helpful hosts) that one side entrance to the train station is actually less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The local high street (Broughton St) is another highlight, with a great selection of cafes, delis, restaurants, a few quirky vintage shops and a second hand bookshop to complete the middle class boehemian ambience. We also found it refreshing that this part of town is mostly frequented by locals (quite unlike the touristy old town).

Overall a great short break - we will be coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthLondonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed for three nights at 14 Hart Street, and couldn't have been happier with my choice. The hosts are extremely hospitable and helped with all my travel questions. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was comfortable with lovely linens, and the bathroom turned out to be the best of my trip, with a great shower. The dining room is decorated with heirloom china and paintings, and the breakfasts were delicious. The location is perfect for accessing city transportation and there is a great assortment of restaurants in the vicinity. 14 Hart Street was the perfect beginning to my trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizanAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We travelled to Edinburgh from the U.S. in early October and stayed at 14 Hart Street for two nights. We were warmly welcomed upon our arrival and the hospitality continued throughout our stay. James and Angela were excellent hosts (our favorites on this trip) and tended to our every need - calling a cab, giving directions, recommending restaurants, printing out itineraries, letting us borrow an umbrella, etc. The B&B is just a short walk from shopping or eating in New Town, and certainly walkable to the Castle and Royal Mile. The bedroom featured hard wood floors, garden view, comfy bed, and a very very good shower (something not always available in the UK...). The breakfast was made to order, delicious, and served in a wonderful dining room with antique furniture. We truly enjoyed our visit, and look forward to staying with James and Angela again. Cheers!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BluesFan1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at 14 Harts Street for 2 nights with my 15 yr old daughter during our visit in Edinburgh at the beginning of October. 14 Harts Street is a very cozy and comfortable b&b, much much better than expected. It is just 10 miniutes walking distance from the railway station and the city centre. Nice restaurants and shopping centres are all nearby. The room that we stayed was big, clean and quiet. The bed is comfy and we had very good sleep during our stay. The hosts James and Angela were very accommodating and attended to all our needs. The breakfast which we had in their gorgeous dinning room was excellent. The whole stay was very value for money. We were so happy that we could stay in such a superb place during our Edinburgh visit. We definitely will recommend it to any of our friends when they go to Edinburgh. We, of course, will stay there again when we come to visit next time!!!
Thanks very much, James and Angela!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews