We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, excellent host!”
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at 14 Hart Street recently for 3 nights and we never regretted choosing this as our accomodation in Edinburgh. We took a cab from Waverly train station and it only took less than 10 mins traffic and it cost only less than £5.00. Walking distance to city centre and there's a few very good cafes and restaurants around the quiet neighbourhood.

We were warmly greeted by the hosts, James and Angela, who are exceptionally hospitable, kind and helpful. James is an excellent cook who prepared tasty and excellent breakfast every morning. The hosts even helped us call the restuarant for dinner reservations which we really appreciated.

Our room was cosy and the bed was a large enough for the 2 of us. There is coffee/tea facilities as well as whiskies and wine! Great shower and wifi too.

We would definitely recommend anyone to stay here while you visit Edinburgh. Thank you James and Angela for all the kind hospitality that you have given us!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snoopy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 509 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

My partner and I spent 3 nights at 14 Hart Street, having read reviews on tripadvisor - we weren't disappointed. James gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our wonderful room. The bed was very comfortable, the room was beautiful, the bathroom was a good size (with a great shower) and there was complimentary wine and scotch. Everything was cleaned daily, the breakfasts were delicious and very filling (we never needed lunch!) and the hosts were friendly and always on hand to help. A fantastic place!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soundfondler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a lovely time at 14 Hart Street. We couldn't fault it in any way. Whilst there are only a handful of guest rooms, the property itself is very spacious and elegant. In many ways it felt more like a luxury boutique hotel than a b&b in the traditional sense. The rooms are beautiful, even more so than in the photos. The dining room was a particular highlight and the breakfast itself was excellent with a full range of choice from any variation of cooked breakfasts through to cereals and pancakes. The hosts were extremely friendly, welcoming and attentive from start to finish.

It is in the perfect location, you can reach the Old town or any part of New town in 5-10 minutes. We also discovered (thanks to the very helpful hosts) that one side entrance to the train station is actually less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The local high street (Broughton St) is another highlight, with a great selection of cafes, delis, restaurants, a few quirky vintage shops and a second hand bookshop to complete the middle class boehemian ambience. We also found it refreshing that this part of town is mostly frequented by locals (quite unlike the touristy old town).

Overall a great short break - we will be coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthLondonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed for three nights at 14 Hart Street, and couldn't have been happier with my choice. The hosts are extremely hospitable and helped with all my travel questions. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was comfortable with lovely linens, and the bathroom turned out to be the best of my trip, with a great shower. The dining room is decorated with heirloom china and paintings, and the breakfasts were delicious. The location is perfect for accessing city transportation and there is a great assortment of restaurants in the vicinity. 14 Hart Street was the perfect beginning to my trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizanAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We travelled to Edinburgh from the U.S. in early October and stayed at 14 Hart Street for two nights. We were warmly welcomed upon our arrival and the hospitality continued throughout our stay. James and Angela were excellent hosts (our favorites on this trip) and tended to our every need - calling a cab, giving directions, recommending restaurants, printing out itineraries, letting us borrow an umbrella, etc. The B&B is just a short walk from shopping or eating in New Town, and certainly walkable to the Castle and Royal Mile. The bedroom featured hard wood floors, garden view, comfy bed, and a very very good shower (something not always available in the UK...). The breakfast was made to order, delicious, and served in a wonderful dining room with antique furniture. We truly enjoyed our visit, and look forward to staying with James and Angela again. Cheers!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BluesFan1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 395 in Edinburgh
765 reviews
94DR
#5 of 395 in Edinburgh
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 Mayfield
#4 of 395 in Edinburgh
985 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 395 in Edinburgh
867 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 395 in Edinburgh
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $156 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing