We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cosy B&B with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanover House Hotel
Ranked #148 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice cosy B&B with a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

The Hanover Hotel is a lovely B&B in a great location.

I treated my wife and parents to two nights in Edinburgh.

The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The showers were excellent and the breakfast was very nice. Jasmine specially made some porridge for our 20 month year old son which was lovely.

The location of the Hanover is great for walking to central Edinburgh (15 mins walk).

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mephistophelean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
31
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We felt right at home while staying at Hanover House. Jasmin and her relatives made us feel like members of the family. She keeps the place immaculate and catered to our every need, serving breakfast to order and even driving us to the bus stop when we left. It is within easy walking distance of the main attractions of Edinburgh and there are good restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Biggest room for groups of 3 or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed for two nights. The location was a bit of a walk from the Royal Mile, but that didn't bother us as we love to sightsee on foot. Since it's on a side street everything was very quiet and restful. Breakfast was tasty and our hosts were helpful. Overall it was calm and cozy and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minim05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Fantastic venue. Wonderful location. The interior is welcoming, clean and relaxing. Best B&B I've stayed in for years.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarMan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
666 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

This guest house is conveniently located in a quiet side street about 10 minutes’ walk from Princes street, Edinburgh’s main shopping street. On arrival, I received a warm welcome from Jasmin, its owner, and was taken to my room on the first floor. The room was quite spacious although a little dilapidated, facing the street, with a huge French window opening onto a balcony.

Breakfast is served in the dining room downstairs, and Jasmin cooks it herself. It is quite nourishing. You are offered a choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, and mushrooms.
Jasmin was very friendly and helpful, so you really felt like you were staying with friends.

The guest house offers free wi-fi access – an important advantage as far as I am concerned.

The only major problem as far as I was concerned was the water pressure in the shower. The cold water pressure was so low that you had a choice of either showering in boiling hot water (not always an acceptable alternative) or taking your shower in a thin stream of warm water (not too comfortable). I tried it at different times of the day – from 6:00 in the morning when not many people were awake in the house to midnight – and it was always the same.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but I would also advise them to enquire whether the water pressure is OK in their room before their visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svegor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Lantern Guest House
#141 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Lyncliff Hotel
#204 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
The Bonnington Guest House
The Bonnington Guest House
#156 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Mingalar
#87 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover House Hotel

Property: Hanover House Hotel
Address: 26 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $142 - $364
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanover House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hanover House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing