We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
USD 272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 365
USD 329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
USD 182
USD 139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 144
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 750
USD 598
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
205
143
42
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
143
42
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestern harbourunderground parkingroyal yachtlarge asdacity centrenumber buswashing machineapartment was cleanbus stopminute walkliving roomthe penthouseboth bedroomsmain bathroomfull kitchenregular buslate check
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

On arrival we were given the 2 minute lecture on the necessity for a £100 breakages/damages deposit, so it was a little bit galling to open the apartment’s front door to find carpets with multiple stains and walls with plenty of scuff marks. Overall the apartment is modern and clean but feels a bit shabby and worn.

The décor is basic and simple with white walls and ceilings with few decorations. It could be described as anaemic, sterile or clinical. In fact, as I lay in my bed, I was expecting nurse to enter the bedroom and state “it’s time to go to theatre for your operation”.

Usually we stay in the centre of Edinburgh and this was our first time out of town. In a way it’s a relief to get out of Edinburgh after spending the day in the centre because the area is very quiet. There’s a very good bus service, with a stop only 2 minutes walk from the apartments, with a single fare costing £1.30. A taxi back in the evening is about £10.

If we were to stay in this area again we’d investigate if there are any apartments nearer the Ocean Terminal area where there are more restaurants within walking distance.

Also, whilst not wishing to be pedantic, the OCEAN Apartments overlook the North SEA.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparkyhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanApts, Owner at Ocean Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear guest (Sparkyhd),

Thank you for taking the time to write a review (which although disappointing to read, was very well written - is it wrong to enjoy a good piece of writing, even though it paints one in slightly negative light?).

Anyway, I am sorry to hear that you found the apartment a little sterile.

We have taken onboard feedback from thousands of guests, and the general feel is that plan and neutral is far more appealing. That said, we do feel that the apartments could benefit with some more homely touches and to that end we are, over the next 12 months are hanging wall paper and increasing the amount of pictures/soft furnishings in each apartment.
To date, 18 apartments already have wallpaper and the feedback is fantastic.

Please do get in touch with me via stay@oceanservicedapts.com (mark the email ATT: Matt Hansen) and we can discuss your feedback in more detail.

Kind regards,
Matt Hansen
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We were a group of 20 girls on a hen weekend, we had 5 rooms with 5 single beds in each apartment. All the rooms were very clean and spaceous with everything you would need for a weekend away.

I would highly recommend these apartments for group holidays, family holidays or romantic weekends away.

We were able to catch a bus or taxi into Leith or Edinborough centre for no more than £4.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanApts, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear guest (Loren22),

Thank you for your review - we are thrilled you had a great weekend in Edinburgh.

Now for the bad news.

We are no longer accepting hen and stag parties.

This is based on market research, and our desire to be responsible neighbours in the local community.

Instead of single sex groups, we are rolling out a new and improved Family Apartment range.

Hopefully one day soon the bride-to-be will visit us with her husband and youngsters for another (albeit slightly different) fantastic weekend!

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

First apartment had the door broken! They found a new one, but with bunk beds, in metal, a bit noisy when you move. Sofa were torn, and the table damaged by knifes. And view on the harbour, no stores, no life at night, you feel to be very far from everything even if the bus is direct and quick, every ten minutes. Ecept this, it was very calm, comfortable, clear, and big enough.
I would prefer next time something downtown.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank JF L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanApts, Owner at Ocean Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear guest (JF L),

Thank you for your review.

Regrettably, due to matters outwith our control (damaged door) the apartment you were allocated was unavailable.

As such you were moved into an inferior apartment, that is due for upgrade.

Please get in touch with me directly (stay@oceanservicedapts.com marking the email ATT: Matt Hansen).

I will reply without delay.

Kind regards,
Matt Hansen
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

All staffs are very helpful,warm and friendly, great place to stay with family or friends.
Great location. 5 mins walking to Asda, easy to get to the city center by bus and a wonderful place to watch the sea and enjoy sunset.
Definitely, We will be back to stay.

Yinan

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yinan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate all feedback that we get from our guests. We are happy to hear that you and your family had a great stay as we are becoming more family orientated and its good to hear we are heading in the right direction. We hope that you and the family will be back to stay with us again in the future.
Ocean Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had a fantastic break in quality accommodation, the veiws were great over looking the Royal Yacht Brittania. The location was well placed for Edinburgh city centre, local buses every 15 mins or by car if you want . The ocean terminal shopping centre is only a 20+ mins walk away with the royal yacht ,cinema,eating/drinking plus shops.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, Marc even saved us £65-£100 due to an overly keen traffic warden who gave us a parking ticket. Thank you Marc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thanks for the great review, we are delighted to hear that you had such a good stay with us. The views that guests get from the apartments are breathtaking and as you say we have supermarkets, shopping centres and the city centre within easy access of the apartments.
As for the help with the parking ticket, we were glad we could help and we hope that all staff were as helpful as Marc. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Ocean Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews