We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Safestay Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Safestay Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2017

This hostel was a great cross between a hostel and a hotel. We booked a private room for three people and had a great room. The food in the restaurant is also super delicious! We had a problem with the toilet late at night and the staff there were very nice and cooperative and helped us late late into the night. I highly recommend this place. It was clean, tidy, respectful.

Room Tip: accessibility to the royal mile and waverly station were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 313 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

The hostel itself is nice and is a great location. I was in a 4-bed women's dorm...it's a bit small, but it was nice. BUT I didn't get a wink of sleep, as the loud music from the bar was thumping until the wee hours. I had requested a quiet room, and boy...if that was a quiet one, I'd hate to hear the loud ones! I wouldn't stay here again because of this. But if noise doesn't bother you or you'll be out all night partying, go for it!

Room Tip: Don't book a room here if you don't want to hear thumpy bar music all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Im really enjoy there...just feel like home
I can found new friend over there
Theres no place better than this that i knew before
Im really hope can back again to safestay hostel in edinburgh and take more long time

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank allusiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

This is a perfect place to stay in central Edinburgh! It was quiet, we had a room i 4th floor. we had to que for breakfast but it was very effective system so it went quick. The athmosphere was young (even schoolchildren) but also other couples in their 50-60th. Few families but perhaps because this was before school holiday. Would perfect for a family of 4 in our room!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elisabetha828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Lost of children's groups, therefore extremely busy breakfast room. A self-service kitchen is available, though ;-)
Nice rooms with bathrooms, table, chair, and a closet, close to attractions, but quiet at night.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathrin350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#113 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,326 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay Edinburgh

Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $44 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Safestay Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Safestay Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing