We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night at Lemonde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #58 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect night at Lemonde”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed at Le Monde back in December for our anniversary, recieved the room we requested which was 'Milan'. The room was lovely, clean and comfy, though not much of a view aside from some office buildings pretty close next door. Location is superb for either tourist stuff or night out in Edinburgh as everything is right on your doorstep. The winning feature of Le Monde however is the bathrooms...absolute luxury. Our bathroom had a huge bath for two, walk in shower, and great range of toiletries, and bathrobes. Didn't sample the restaurant, but did also get a free voucher for a cocktail each from the bar. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula_8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    207
    83
    38
    38
See reviews for
40
504
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Le Monde hotel, the staff were so welcoming and friendly, they couldn't do enough to help to help us but without being over the top. We stayed in the Barcelona room which was lovely. The Dirty Martini bar definitely a plus to have at the hotel. Breakfast was yummy too. We walked everywhere around the city from the hotel, we even walked down to the Britannioa after the staff recommended a lovely walk along the Water of Leith.

Only two, not so great points. There is a little bit of noise when the club kicks out at about 3am but the crowd is moved along quickly and didn't disrupt our nighst sleep too much (the pillows made up for the noise!) and the only other thing was that the remote control stopped working on our last morning.

Would most definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZLB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

great rooms, very modern, in good location. Only draw back was noise from nightclub below. Top place to stay, would return

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasAlcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

As someone who is constantly in hotels, this is my first review on Tripadvisor and a hotel close to home. We stayed at Le Monde in central Edinburgh where every room is named after a world city. We were given Casablanca. Having read the reviews and been given a recommendation by a friend, I have to say my overall impression was one of disappointment.
However, I will start with the three main things for me in a hotel room- shower, bed and good blinds. The bed was big and had crisp, clean white linen and the mattress was extremely comfortable so no faults there whatsoever. The bathroom was extremely roomy and consisted of a bath and a shower cubicle I would give 7/10 for. The toiletries were L'Occitaine which was a nice touch. There was a TV in the bathroom but we couldn't find a remote for it so if we wanted it on we had to listen to BBC1 quite loud. Although there was a Moroccan theme to the room, the bathroom was not which was a shame. The room had a big corner bay window which looked nice but the venetian blinds didn't just not operate well but didn't even cover the windows which meant that the daylight came in in the morning which is a pet hate of mine.
From an amenity perspective, the room had a large flat screen TV on the far wall from the bed but I would say the channel selection is limited. There was a DVD player but we couldn't see if it was possible to hire films from reception as the room had no information booklet. The lighting was mostly operated by control panels at the door and by the bed but some of the down lights didn't work and neither did one of the standing lamps. The mini bar had a good selection and was reasonably priced which is just as well as we emptied it on the Saturday night.
The decor, as you would expect, was wooden and Moroccan. While this looked good, the two chairs either side of the coffee table were uncomfortable.
The hotel has its own nightclub and the noise from it could be heard slightly from our room although we did go back early that night and it wasn't enough to be an issue. The bar looked good but we didn't actually visit it during our stay.
We had a mixed bag of the service provided at the hotel. First, the room was cleaned once during our stay (we stayed two nights only) and was done so to a high standard. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and polite but the big let down on service was room service. As I said, the room had no information booklet in the room so we didn't actually manage to find out what the full package of services were so, at 23.03hrs on the Saturday we phoned to order room service and were told night menu started at 11pm and on offer was macaroni cheese, chilli con carne and one other dish. We were disappointed but I went for macaroni and to say it was disappointing was an understatement. Basically 6 spoonfuls of pasta with cheese, no garnish, nothing. Was it straight out of a Heinz tin? It could have been. We ended up going round the corner to a pizza take away recommended by the receptionist and this was my second awful Italian dish of the night.
Overall, for those who don't stay in hotels all the time, it is a good hotel with a novel concept for rooms. For me, it fell short of the quality I expect for that price. Would I go back, probably not. There are better value for money hotels in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The rooms are all based on a city. We had an executive room and it was not as big or as well appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedLichtie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Booked a weekend away as a Christmas present for my wife, left the kids at home so wanted something special and we weren't dissapointed. From the minute we walked in the door the greeting was friendly and the service was excellent. We stayed in the Los Angeles suite and it was superb. The bar area around the fire made for a great location to have pre-dinner drinks before we went out or lose an afternoon chatting over a bottle of wine in front of the fire. We had a meal in the Hotel on our first night and again the service and food were very good. The full breakfast with Haggis can definitely be reccomended to start the day, can't fault it!

Room Tip: Los Angeles suite was excellent but I would think all the rooms are going to live up to expectations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,132 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,684 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Edinburgh

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $199 - $632
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing