We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveller rating
495
48
6
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
495
48
6
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portobello beach city centre a short bus ride lovely guesthouse cooked breakfast a lovely stay visiting edinburgh breakfast was excellent angela hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 558 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

this was a delightful guest house with charming and helpful hosts but totally overpriced for the facilities on offer. the room was adequate and nicely furnished. It has beautiful sash Georgians windows which give you a hernia when trying to open to let in some fresh air. The pillows were poor as was the very thin duvet. The bathroom was adequate with all the usual toiletries but the shower was tiny with a just about adequate flow of water. There were the usual tea making facilities with a supply of biscuits and the breakfast was fine with all the usual offerings plus plenty of fresh fruit and juices along with the full "English" breakfast with of course porridge if required. My only gripe was the fact that for the prices charged it should have been a lot better all round as it was 5 star prices at 3 star facilities ! Also it was in Portobello which is a 20 minute bus ride from the centre which although a very pleasant setting was not a town centre hotel and for £120 a night for a double room for single occupancy should have been a lot better.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davids981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Owner at Abercorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hello David,
Thank you for your review and we are sorry you were not happy with the price for the rugby weekend and some other issues in your room.
At the time of booking I explained fully on the telephone that we only had two rooms available for the rugby it was filling quickly and we were selling them as one twin and one double as we do not have any single rooms, I also suggested maybe trying elsewhere to find two singles instead of paying the double price at 120.00 but you insisted you wanted to book them both, one for yourself and one for a friend who loves portobello and stayed in the area many times.we cannot give out double rooms to single persons at peak periods when our rooms are in high demand.
You also asked if I could charge your friend for only one nights stay, and you wanted to pay the rest of the bill including his extra evening which I did.
The pillows you mentioned, you did have 4 in your room 2 firm 2 softer and if you had mentioned we could have changed pillows for you, everyone has different preferences when it comes to pillows, bedding etc but we wish you had just mentioned at the time.
The duvet you felt was thin but you did have a nice throw also on the bed and the heating being on 24 hours which you can adjust temperature yourself to suit, most guests do not want heavy duvets, again had you mentioned of course we have many different togs of duvets we could have given you a heavier.
In guest houses its impossible to put large shower areas and wet rooms in, as it reduces the size of the bedrooms so we feel the size is quite adequate for our victorian home .
Our prices are considered very reasonable for 4 star in comparison to the city and I know you think you would get a five star facility at the same price but we are not sure a five star? also for single occupancy in town is very expensive.
On departure you asked if you could have a discount and I said sorry we cannot offer you this as everyone else was paying the same, I did mention to you that we would do a discount and offer you single occupancy for you out with peak periods i.e. rugby festival time etc which you were delighted with,We hope your friend enjoyed his stay he was very complimentary on departure.
KindRegards
Angela


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Abercorn. We were met by Angela and her husband who were so welcoming and helpful. Our room was enormous (room 8) and very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The breakfasts were amazing - beautifully presented in a cozy dining room with fresh flowers and candles on the table.
The owners were very helpful and made our stay really enjoyable. I would highly recommend this place.

Room tip: All the rooms look lovely.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplevonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We spent one night here and loved every minute - It's literally everything you could ever want in a (very) reasonably priced Guesthouse. free parking, 5 mins from beach, great house full of character and rooms that blew us away! Capturing that elusive balance between stylish and cozy just perfectly, they were a treat. Free wifi, roomy with high ceilings, amenities all in place, nice TV, great comfy bed....Added to this was a delicious and really well-presented breakfast (with welcome flexibility on times) and a general warmth emanating from the lovely owners, who again get it just right by being friendly and interested in you, without being invasive or overbearing whatsoever.

As other reviews have outlined, the location is great as you're on the lively Portobello Road, full of shops and life. We hopped on the bus for 90 seconds (well, the weather was foul!) to eat a superb pub meal. (I forget the name but it came up straight away on a search engine search but we had a truly brilliant Burger & Fish n Chips!) The bus can also take you in to the city centre in about 20 mins.

Overall staying at the Abercorn Guest House was an absolute treat, we would be back in a flash if nearby again. Why does anybody bother with bland chain hotels when you can have this experience at such a reasonable price? More fool them, better kept a secret maybe? :-)

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

My husband booked a long weekend in Edinburgh for my Xmas present, and boy did it deliver! We could have stayed closer to town but if we had done so we wouldn't have discovered this little gem of a guest house. The owner, Angela, is a chatty, friendly owner who did us the massive favour of letting us check in early (we arrived at 9 due to early flight and they happened to have our room ready), recommended places to eat and drink nearby, breakfasts were amazing, and the room was beyond comfortable! They even were happy to let me sleep most of a day (and forego cleaning) as I caught a cold and felt awful for one day, anticipating our breakfast order the next day. Free wi-fi, good bathroom, tea and coffee facilities, the place was brilliant, plus well within budget (a bargain really!). Even let us leave our bags whilst we carried on exploring after our check out time. Thank you so much!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Becci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for a weekend break, a truly wonderful experience! The setting as you enter the garden through the big white gate is fantastic, giving a great preview of what awaits. The room we had was beautifully decorated, spacious, cosy and with a great comfy bed. Breakfast each morning was lovely, cooked to perfection and accompanied by fresh coffee.

The location is great, Portobello sea front and promenade is a lovely part of Edinburgh, well worth a morning stroll (look out for the little green van!). Buses into town are plentiful too.

And finally, a word for the hosts - lovely, friendly, welcoming. Altogether a fantastic weekend, we will be back!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews