We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveller rating
944
286
41
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
944
286
41
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arthur's seat city centre salisbury arms holyrood park quiet neighborhood dalkeith road royal mile minute walk small hotel kippers breakfast was delicious street parking scottish breakfast great shower wonderful hotel the ground floor twin room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2020

I've stayed a the Hotel a few times now, sometimes for business and sometimes for pleasure and every stay has been a sheer delight. Susan and Kevin are amazing hosts, incredibly welcoming and the hotel and the rooms are always immaculate.
No better way to wake up in the morning with a powerful hot shower and a full freshly cooked Scottish breakfast - what's not to love?

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank 795evelynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Kenny, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2020

Thank you for your review. So pleased to see you back at the hotel again, always a pleasure.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020

Kevin and Susan made our recent 3 night stay fabulous!, We were warmly welcomed with Help with parking and our Luggage to the room, followed by tea and Biscuits! The room was Spacious and Spotlessly clean, with the most amazing Shower!! and everything you could possibly need. In the Evenings you could sit and have friendly fun Chats in the bar with Kevin, who was an amazing host. In the Mornings you were served a fabulous Hearty breakfast. The hotel was close to a main bus route into the city on Dalkeith Road, a god send for the Older generation, very close to Arthurs seat too!! - All social Distancing and Other safety measures were adopted here sensibly, and not over the top, which was great as it made it feel like "home from home", roll on next year, when we will happily go back!!

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Kenny, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2020

Thank you for your review.

We had a great time getting to know both of you, it was a real pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020

A massive big thank again to Susan and Kevin and there staff at The Hotel Ceilidh-Donia in Edinburgh.

This will be our third stay at this hotel and as ever...won’t be our last. We were in Edinburgh visiting family finally after lockdown and chose The Ceilidh-Donia firstly, because of Susan and Kevin for making us feel so welcome, even if it was elbow bumps instead off the usual big hugs.

The hotel is so central, walking distance to the city and Arthur’s seat along with all the local bars, restaurants and shops. Public transport to and from the city/airport is excellent too.

The value for money is second to none, and the Eggs Benedict (my favourite) is DELCIOUS !!!

Even in these...strange times, the hotels hygiene was second to none, social distancing adhered too and I can honestly say felt as safe there as at home.

Thank you as always and can’t wait for the next stay.

*Big elbow bumps*

Ralph x

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank RalphJFMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Kenny, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Thank you so much for your review, we are so delighted you returned to the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia and enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to welcome you back. What a wonderful review.

We cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2020

This visit was a 3-night stay as a birthday present from my family. The hosts, Susan and Kevin, could not be more friendly, warm and accommodating. Breakfast was top class and hearty. Our room was comfy,clean and cosy.Power shower fab with great temperature control and nice little toiletries. Tea/coffee/biscuits and electrics. Good WiFi. Great location for all your days out, don't miss nearby Arthur's Seat.
Susan took a snap of us outside the hotel just before going out for my birthday meal.
I would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again in future. And thank you for the lovely birthday rose with my breakfast!! What a treat! You won't find a better stay with better hosts. Book it!
Judy x

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Jddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Kenny, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments are so much appreciated and gives us the motivation to keep doing what we do.

Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2020

This has been the 3rd time I have stayed in the hotel. One of the main reasons I come back is the fantastic hosts. Kevin is life and soul and makes you feel welcome - this is extremely important to me as having to travel to Edinburgh for business it's lovely to made to feel welcome. The rooms are extremely spacious - clean and a high standard. The breakfast was lovely - Susan the chef will cook your breakfast to your requirements- I can highly recommend the kippers with poached egg! Delicious! - Whether traveling as a couple of on your own - this hotel is the ideal place - within walking distance to the centre - over looking Arthur's seat and fantastic hosting - will def come back again! Thank you both

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank 578suziep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Kenny, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are very much appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews