We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's all about the place...what a location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cockburn Street

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Hallways
Kitchen
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
The Double Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
Hallways
Lobby
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
Street
Street
Lounge 2
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Lounge 3
Kitchen
Lounge 4
Lounge 5
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Lounge 7
Hall
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Exterior 3
Exterior 4
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Craig M
Bundanoon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's all about the place...what a location!”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Absolutely amazing location. So close to EVEYTHING that you would want to do in Edinburgh.

Miles was very helpful even when we had a hiccup the first night we were there he sorted everything out the next day (which was a Sunday!!!)

We had such a great time here and if I really really had to come up with a negative comment, it'd would've been even better if we could've used the logs in the fireplace :)

Thank you so much!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Prime location
Liked least: Stairs to flat
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stine I
1 review
“Fantastic location, great comfort!”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a little trouble when we first arrived, since the keys from the key box belonged to another apartment in the building. Where someone else was living. (We shared a couple of beers and made a new friend!)
After we checked the other key boxes (they really should have different codes) we found the key to the apartment, and it was just perfect!
The beds are big and comfy, bathroom is clean, kitchen has everything you need, and living room is spacious. And the location couldn't be more central! We enjoyed every minute of our stay, and would absolutely recommend it to everyone! Great value for money!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kengor
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“TOO MANY PROBLEMS”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this Cockburn Street flat for four night because of its convenient location and great prior sole review. Unfortunately, we cannot echo the accolades of the previous guest who stayed here.

First the good things: the flat is very conveniently located on Cockburn right off the Mile and right near Waverley Station; the price is on the lower side of average; the flat was clean.

Now the problems - in no particular order:

The mattresses on all the beds desperately need replacing - you can feel the springs coming through when you lay on the bed - there are no box springs or foundations and the beds - ALL OF THEM - are simply unsuitable.

When we arrived we found a crumpled piece of paper with a note from the cleaner indicating that the prior guests had broken the shower but the shower would be repaired that same day ---- only problem is, the plumber did not fix it the first day nor the second but finally on the evening of the second day he showed up and fixed it. I realize things break and repairs will be needed, but there are two essential things I rent a flat for - a place to sleep and a place to shower - based on the above problems, neither of these essential needs was met.

Worse yet was the lack of communication - we never received a call from the landlord about the broken shower - there was no welcome note - no household instructions - no suggested places to eat or drink - and when I inquired in advance of our stay as to the time we could gain access to the flat it took the landlord 3 full weeks to finally respond. There was no number for us to call with questions, problems or emergencies. No effort at all was put in to making us feel welcome and at home.

While the flat is conveniently located, its location also lends itself to noisy sleepless nights. We were disappointed that the poorly sealed windows did nothing to keep out the street noise, but even more amazed at the loudness of the domestic squabbles and slamming doors that woke us with regularity throughout the night. Of course we had no one to call to voice our concerns to.

We have now rented four different flats in and about Edinburgh with three of them being in Old Town and one directly on High Street. I am afraid to say I would put this Cockburn flat at the bottom of the list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Whilst we take great care to ensure our guests have a great stay at Cockburn Street, it would seem that even our best efforts some time don’t meet the mark.
For clarification on some of the points raised, the mattresses are memory foam for improved posture and don’t have springs.
The maintenance person had to order a replacement part. We cannot anticipate what may be broken or damaged with outgoing tenants. We do however address these matters with great urgency.
Communication prior to the visit predominated around an insistence on early access to the property. In order to satisfy this we would have had to upset the outgoing holiday makers which was in our view unreasonable. We did however manage to arrange early access by some three and a half hours to help accommodate this issue.
By good fortune the bedrooms are to the rear of the property enjoying the quietest part of the building. Whilst a City Centre property may have some noise, this is the first and only time we have comments regarding this matter. We will address any issues which may further reduce noise going forward.
We pride ourselves in all the positive feedback and delighted guest we have had over the last 2 years. We will use the comments constructively to ensure our future gusts have a fantastic holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing