We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”
Review of No. 1 The Grange

No. 1 The Grange
Ranked #593 of 2,754 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 13
Cuisines: British
Description: Located near the beautiful Meadows in Edinburgh's south side, and where Newington meets The Grange. We welcome you to experience an innovative menu of locally sourced cuisine, exciting wines and carefully selected craft beers. Children are welcome to join us until 8pm. Parties of up to 30 catered for. We are a dog-friendly establishment.
Restaurant details
Description: Located near the beautiful Meadows in Edinburgh's south side, and where Newington meets The Grange. We welcome you to experience an innovative menu of locally sourced cuisine, exciting wines and carefully selected craft beers. Children are welcome to join us until 8pm. Parties of up to 30 catered for. We are a dog-friendly establishment.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

To find something special in Edinburgh, you really have to look outside the city center, and No,1 the grange is worth the trip. It has a lovely, cozy atmosphere, nice service and wine menu (and I am picky about wine!), I had the monkfish which was cooked perfectly. I believe they change the menu quite regularly, which is always a plus for me, so I can go back and try something new. I live in Leith where there is always some hipster establishment opening up that is all flash and no substance - No.1 The grange was a breath of fresh air.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lorelait722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan R, Owner at No. 1 The Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi There!
Thanks so much for the kind feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Danny & Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This is a gastro pub, but one with a good atmosphere as well as decent food. Really tasty Sunday lunch - my only complaints are that it was not terribly hot and the Yorkshire pudding was not great. The staff were lovely and made us feel totally at home. Would definitely recommend.

Thank LaurieM2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan R, Owner at No. 1 The Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi There Laurie,
Thanks for the review and were sorry the heat and the yorkies weren't up to scratch. We have spoken with our head chef on this matter and can assure you that our Yorkshire puddings (Which is a pivotal part of the roast) will now be cooked fresh to order, on Sunday they were out of this world! please say hi when you pop back in. All the very best. Danny & Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited No. 1 The Grange for a lunch after seeing their amazing meals in their Instagram page.

It’s a nice, well designed gastro pub with a good selection of drinks and good service.

The food menu mixes traditional pub style food with high end, creative cookery. The menu is priced very reasonably for the level of food on offer - I would even suggest it’s on low side!

I had pork belly which was magnificent. The meat really melted away and crackling was a delicious, salty, crunchy delight. My partner had an applewood cheese and bacon burger. It was massive and again very flavourful, really nothing to complain about.

Would definitely visit again

Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan R, Owner at No. 1 The Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

What a lovely review, Andy. Thank you very much.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Danny & Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Sat down and looked good and then told we had to leave as they did not have any credit card facilities thus the place emptied . Felt that on balance they should have said this upfront ummm overall not happy ...

Thank Stewart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Have come here often with friends for drinks and have always felt welcome with the service from Danny and Ryan. Decided to come for food and was amazed with both the quality of service and food! Can’t thank Danny enough (who was there on the night) for the service. We were served instantly and were regularly waited on without being smothered. Will become a regular for both drink and food now.
Can honestly say the new owners have completely turned it around and brought it back into the 21st century of the gastropub world.

Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan R, Owner at No. 1 The Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

This is a fabulous review Nathan, thanks a million. Really delighted that you're enjoying visiting us.

Danny & Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No. 1 The Grange also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to No. 1 The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing