We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Stag Do Location”
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
15 bedrooms are available for upto 40 guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
15 bedrooms are available for upto 40 guests
The huge dining table for large guest numbers.
A short walk away and you will find a water fall and 100's of acres of woods to explore!
The Bridal suite
The piano is for guests to play - if you can!
Beautiful winter holiday home, at the Edinburgh self catering house
relax at the Edinburgh self catering house
Almost all the rooms have ensuite facilities.
The meadow for the games
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
12 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarcusDPK
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Stag Do Location”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow. What a weekend.

The setting of the venue is stunning and exactly as advertised. It was perfect for our large group of 27.

David and Elaine were great 'hosts', making us feel really at home and being on hand when needed. I wasn't aware when making the booking that they would be living in the rooms below but it really wasn't an issue. They stayed true to their only rules being 'No Shoes or Smoking Inside' and kept out of the way only popping by to make sure all was well.

Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Book it, you won't regret it.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: What's not to like?
Liked least: Everything was great. No complaints.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Wow indeed, thank you for your kind words and we're super pleased you had such a great time! As promised we welcome all well behaved groups and stay well out of the way! Our house is your house, you're very welcome to come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karenshie...
1 review
“Amazing hen weekend in an amazing house!”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

19 of us stayed here for 2 nights for a Hen weekend, from start to finish the owner Dave could not have been any more helpful. He even let us borrow shorts so someone could jump in the hot tub! The house was perfect for what we needed and there was plenty supplies of everything. Because Dave lives with his family in the basement, he was on hand if we needed him but equally didn't get in our way at all. Even at 3am and we were playing the piano and singing at the top of our lungs, there was no complaints from him. Can't recommend this place enough, and I'd certainly return if I was planning another group event.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Fab, we absolute love it when a group really enjoys the house! Thank you so much for your kind words, and you're right Dave works has so hard to make sure the weekends are fun for all the guests...till next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Hen Party!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I booked kirkhill for 15 girls for 2 nights through Adventure Connections. We had such a fantastic time. The mansion and surroundings were perfect. The house has its rustic side that adds nothing but character. I was over the moon when the party all arrived and everyone was so pleased. Dave the owner was lovely, and Justin at Adventure Connections was more than helpful throughout!
A very, very happy group of fussy women! :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leanne271...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“PERFECT for our large hen party”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a weekend here at the mansion where we booked it for a group of 30 for a hen party. (ages from 20-50+) It was absolutely perfect for us!! it's definitely not as glamorous as it looks in the photos and can do with a little TLC in some areas but it's just what you need for a hen/stag party. When we first learned that the owners were staying on the premises (in the basement) we we're a bit wary, as its a large group we didn't want to have to be conscious about making too much noise.... However, when we were greeted by Dave and Elaine the owners, they couldn't have been anymore laid back! We were told to make as much noise as we wanted and to party up until when we wanted, they just left us to get on with it and have a great time! Elaine actually gave me her phone number and told us to chap their door if we needed anything. We needed a few light bulbs changed, and within half an hour Dave had done them. We had a wild night on the Friday which involved many of bodies in the hot tub, and resulted in it needing a bit of a clean out and filled back up which Dave done for us for the second night. They were absolutely fantastic with us - couldn't be anymore helpful. (I definitely recommend including the hot tub in your booking - our weekend wouldn't have been the same without it). So if your looking for somewhere for a large group where you can just let your hair down and have a great weekend then definitely go for this beautiful place.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateLizJ8...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the mansion over the Easter weekend for my friends hen do. There were 25 of us. The house was more than big enough to accommodate us all, it had a fabulous dining and living area where we hosted our hen party games! The surrounding area is absolutely beautiful. The owners Dave and Elaine we so welcoming and made us feel right at home and were there to assist with any queries we had.

Fantastic weekend! Would definitely recommend the house, especially for large groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
We love a happy hen! Thank you for the review, it really means so much to us that you had such a great time at Kirkhill. Thanks once again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 1,923
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing