We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“castle snug - enchanting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Castle Snug

The Castle Snug
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Castle Snug
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
The Castle Snug
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“castle snug - enchanting”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

excellent accommodation, in walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. Would certainly recommend this fairytale venue
Sharon and Aaron Parke
26 April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenient location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GigiLJ
San Diego, California, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My eleven year old daughter and I traveled to Edinburgh in early April, staying at the Snug for 3 nights. I let my daughter pick our accommodation after she absolutely fell in love with the photos for this apartment. They did not disappoint! The location is fabulous - in the middle of everything, yet quiet and cosy. We loved being able to pop in and out as we journeyed up and down the Royal Mile taking in all Edinburgh has to offer. Our use of the kitchen was limited to purchasing wonderful Scottish cheese from IJ Mellus Cheesemonger, which we thoroughly enjoyed, and using the washer/dryer combo. The owner is easy to get in touch with and very helpful. We have both fallen in love with Edinburgh, highly recommend the Snug and definitely hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, atmosphere, friendly owner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsHKP
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After returning from our second visit to The Castle Snug it is becoming our favourite place to stay in Edinburgh. Absolutely ideal for a couple who want a romantic getaway with a cosy fire and simple but quirky decor. The apartment is in a perfect location just on the royal mile, surrounded by lovely restaurants and a five minute walk from the shops and the train station. On both visits we have been made feel very welcome by the owners and the apartment is well stocked with all the essentials.

We will definitely be coming here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky decor, location, comfy bed, internet speed, and owners
Liked least: no amenities to use the internet speed, such a bigger tv etc (being very picky there)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pneurotic...
1 review
“Historic and quirky apartment in an unrivaled location”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just got back from a one night stay at the outstanding Castle Snug and cannot recommend it more highly. I'm not normally inclined to write reviews but this place deserves the credit for really making our trip to take in two shows. Firstly its so central to everything, 15 mins from the railway station, 10 mins from Usher Hall, 20 mins from the Playhouse and a mere 5 mins to the Castle which is virtually next door! We love staying in unusual places and the Castle Snug certainly fits the bill. Beautifully and sensitively restored you almost step beck to the 1700's when Dr Samuel Johnson was a frequent houseguest of James Boswell, but with all of today's modern essentials on hand.
Brian made us feel exceptionally welcome and communicated well both around booking and arrival, even giving us a later check out time at no extra charge.
We will certainly be staying here again the next time we are in Edinburgh.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_otte...
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent our wedding night in the castle snug and everything about the property was fantastic. The owner Brian and his wife were extremely nice and were flexible when we asked to drop bags off early. A great wee place in a fantastic location.

Thanks again guys

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing