We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and cosy place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of New Town Apartment

One double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One double bedroom
Edinburgh's New Town Comfortable living room with bedsofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
One double bedroom
Edinburgh's New Town
Comfortable living room with bedsofa
Private garden with seating area
Livingroom with free wifi
Fully equipped kitchen
Cosy apartment
Bedroom
Outdoor seating area
New Town main door apartment
Shower room
Access from the street via stairs
Hallway
New town garden flat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Warm and cosy place”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Very clean, warm and cosy place to stay. Aprox 15 min walking distance to the station. Sylvia (the owner of the flat) is very nice and very helpful.
We had a great stay in Edinburgh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Hi Urzula,
I can only apologise for taking such a long time to respond your really nice review, I appreciate you took time to do this, thank you very much and I would look forward to welcoming you back to Cumberland street anytime, kind regards Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Kintore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Laura Mathers”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fantastic stay at this apartment, only 15 mins from Waverley station. It is down hill to get there and obviously uphill to get back to the shops. The apartment was, comfortably, clean and very cosy. Milk in fridge, buiscuits and bread. Bottled water and a bottle wine in fridge. Which we didn't drink as wasn't quite sure if it was meant for us. My friend had the double bed and I slept on the fold down sofa bed in living room, it was so comfortable I had a super night sleep. There is a lovely secluded garden. Too cold to sit out this time of year but would be lovely in summer. Very quiet location but also central too. A visit to The Royal Mile is a must, lots quaint shops and nice little pubs/cafes. Edinburgh is busy and very friendly. I would recommend this apartment and will certainly stay there again if I was to return for a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2016
Hi Laura,
Thank you so much for the review, it's so kind of you to take your time to do this for me, really appreciate all the positive comments, please do come back another time & hopefully I will get to meet you next time, best wishes, Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31happyfo...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

From the moment we arrived at Sylvie's apartment.everything fell into place. It is such a homely apartment.everything is provided. You could cook if you wish.bread milk and butter was there for us.and as a special touch.Sylvie had left a bottle of prosecco in the fridge as it was my husbands birthday.
Town was 10 minutes walk.a little uphill but worth it. The area where the apartment is is really beautiful.antique shops and galleries.
Eat at the dome if possible. It was done up for Christmas when we were there and I've never seen anything quite so spectacular.
Sylvie was a brilliant host.looking after us before we arrived.and on the end of the phone if we needed her.
We've already booked to go back in spring.just to take advantage of the lovely garden at the apartment. Would highly recommend this lovely place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Hi Marie , thank you so very much for positive review and booking again with me, very pleased you enjoyed your stay, next time better weather and Dome will have its outside court yard ready for you, which is nearly as pretty as Christmas time, see you in May, best wishes, Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Hi there , thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review, really appreciate all your comments and would love to have you back to stay , best wishes, Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cath M
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab again!”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We returned to the apartment again after such a good experience last year. Once again it did not disappoint us, Sylvie was very helpful and we arrived to find warm bread, milk and the kettle boiled ready for a cuppa. The apartment is so close to the centre and in easy walking distance, we hired a car this year so we could travel further afield, one thing to be warned that you have to pay for parking Monday to Friday 8.30 til 5.30, free at the weekend though.
We will definitely return here and would recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having home comforts and being so close to the centre of Edinburgh
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Hi Cath , thank you very much for your lovely review, really appreciate it , very kind of you to take time to do this & for booking the apartment again, was very chuffed to welcome you back, many thanks Cath & Adrian, best wishes, Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing