We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Apartment in Edinburgh”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of New Town Apartment

One double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One double bedroom
Edinburgh's New Town Comfortable living room with bedsofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
One double bedroom
Edinburgh's New Town
Comfortable living room with bedsofa
Private garden with seating area
Livingroom with free wifi
Fully equipped kitchen
Cosy apartment
Bedroom
Outdoor seating area
New Town main door apartment
Shower room
Access from the street via stairs
Hallway
New town garden apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kitteecat...
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Apartment in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in June 2015

My partner and I stayed here for a few days in June 2015. It is situated about a 10 minute walk from the town centre and a perfectly quiet, well equipped, comfortable and homely apartment.

The host was lovely, even though I didn't get the chance to meet her we had regular correspondence and she could not have been more helpful.
having the garden area out the back of the flat was a definite bonus.

I would gladly recommend this holiday let to anyone visiting Edinburgh, but please remember that there are stairs and a bit of an uphill walk in to town, so probably not best choice for the infirm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath M
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wow what a find; brilliant”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

this was the best place I could have possibly wished for.my wife and I came up to edinburgh for two nights for a birthday surprise for my wife.the apartment was fab just what I was looking for and my wife loved it too.it had everything you could think of, very clean and well presented and the outside space was fabulous. sadly we did not get to meet Sylvie the owner but have to say how great she was. nothing was too much trouble and she even put a bottle of prosecco in the fridge for us to celebrate my wifes birthday.thanks again Sylvie and would deffinately book this apartment again if coming to Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the charming warm feel to the apartment and the outside space
Liked least: i could not find fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elaine W
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First Class Apartment with everything you need in Heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I wanted a weekend in Edinburgh with my friend but didnt want the restrictions of a Hotel. This flat took me 10 mins to walk from Waverley but the area is covered in antique shops, bakery, galleries, pubs etc.

The flat is fantastic with a comfy bed, everything you need and more! It is cosy but perfectly formed in every way. It was ideal for my girls weekend away and Sylvie the owner is on hand to help in any way if your new to the area.

I cannot recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Hi Elaine, thank you so much for the lovely review, it was great to know you had a good stay , you and your friend would certainly be most welcome return guests, kind regards Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claraloon...
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Romantic Weekend”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Excellent wee apartment within walking distance of the city centre. We were in Edinburgh for the six nations, Italy-Scotland. The apartment was clean and cosy and perfect for a weekend stay in the city. The owner communicated well and even had the fire and lights on for us arriving on a cold, dark February night. The location is quiet despite being so central. However, we did hear some noise from passing people around 3 am on the Saturday.
Overall, an excellent place to stay. George Street is nearby (up hill) with many pubs and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay ...”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have just returned from an excellent long weekend break staying in New Town Apartment, Edinburgh.

We've stayed in Edinburgh on many occasions usually staying in the big hotels. We decided this time to try an Apartment stay to give us the flexibility to come and go as we please, and comfort and relaxation if we decided to "stay at home" when weather wasn't so good. I can honestly say it was the best decision we've made.

New Town Apartment is a reasonable sized, one bed lower ground Apartment located a few hundred meters down the hill from Princes Street in a quiet area off Dundas Street.

We drove from Newcastle on a Friday morning for our stay as its only a couple of hours away, and were a little concerned about parking, but once we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to find that parking restrictions are lifted from 5:30 on Friday to 08:30 on Monday all over Edinburgh. We managed to park across the road from our apartment when we arrived and had no parking issues at all during our stay.

The apartment is very well equipped and maintained and has what appears to be a new central heating system recently installed which was most welcome on some of the colder, windier days in Scotland. (It was even left on with the gas fire burning when we arrived... lovely and toasty ).

The hill back up to Prince St and the main center is fairly steep, so walking up is a bit if a chore, and could be a problem if you have difficulties walking, but taxis are plentiful and public transport is good if you need it...

There are some small shops near the Apartment to get the essentials, with cafe's and restaurants a short walk up Dundas Street if you don't want to go to far.

Other reviewers have mentioned the small bathroom, which is small, but well appointed and perfectly usable, even the "small" shower cubicle. (I'm nearly 6ft and had no problems at all !!)

We missed the owner Sylvie when we arrived on Friday as she was working, but gained access and keys without issue. Communications were excellent using emails, phone and text messages, but I'm sure she would have been on the spot if we had any issues.(which we didn't)..

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return in the future, it's changed our view of hotel stays in Edinburgh for good now... Apartments all the way and New Town Apartment in particular.

Thanks for a great stay Sylvie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing