We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as before”
Review of Grey Horse Inn

Grey Horse Inn
Ranked #995 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Restaurant details
Fife
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“As good as before”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Having been before in June 2013, we returned in September with friends, and I think we all enjoyed the meal which was up to the usual high standard as before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“My Local”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Grey Horse is my local and it's a great little pub. It has a great range of real ales and Chinese food is also available in the Sloeberry restaurant. The food is certainly of the highest quality and easily some of the best Chinese I've ever had. The pub interior is fairly basic but that is part of the appeal. It's a traditional, old school pub not another generic pub chain type of place. The lounge side has been recently refurbished but the bar side is more traditional and better for it. The pub regularly has live music, particularly on a Sunday afternoon and Paul the landlord is a welcoming and friendly host.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant Chinese Food”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Agree with everything the previous reviewer has said. Best Chinese food for miles around - we had a starter and a main course which were to die for. Great portions, so we asked for a doggy bag for the first time ever. The pub itself is very welcoming with its excellent selection of real ales and a Chinese lager. The place is very much a work in progress as the owners, Paul and Jane, have recently bought the pub and we wish them well and look forward to a return visit in hopefully September.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Edinburgh!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great traditional pub which serves very authentic Chinese, not the usual poor quality meat with sweet gloopy sauces that you tend to get at the majority of Chinese restaurants. Have been to most Chinese restaurants in Edinburgh over the years and this is by far the best. Also great ales on tap, good service and reasonably priced.

Hidden gem - well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dibeach125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious home cooked food! Great value for money. Shame about the building!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

After having walked a number of miles with a friend we arrived in Balerno at lunch time and were faced with two choices. We picked the Grey Horse as the other place did not seem open.

Unfortunately the place was not inviting at all from the outside and I wish they even advertised the fact they made homemade food as that would make all the difference.

We had sat down and has two great ales then placed our order.

I had the Risotto crunch as it was called. Fresh risotto balls with tomato and mozzarella which were delicious! They were served in a basked and came with a tasty fresh side salad and a delicious home made pesto for dipping at the side.

My friend had the home made pâté which I tried and we both agreed one of the nicest pâtés we had in a long time!

For main course I had the chili and ricotta lasagna, which again was home made and absolutely delicious. My friend had the mac 'n' cheese which for very tasty.

All in all very big portions, delicious food and great value for money. The place really would benefit from a complete refurbishment as its incredibly worn in every room. I really wish the owners all the best success.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grey Horse Inn also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Grey Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing