We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
brianstok...
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!!”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at this apartment,on entering the property we had a quick look around and noticed the bathroom blind was missing.We contacted the owner to say the blind was missing,and she replied yes that is correct.There was a set of steps outside the window of which you could see into the bathroom with no blind.On returning to the property later,on unpacking the kitchen and bathroom was not very clean.There was three light bulbs not working,no hot water at the sinks,the lights in the front room went out after a while.We had problems with the apartment below playing loud music from 21.00-05.00am,they were smoking something illegal as our apartment smelt of it,and they were shouting too.It smelt every night after that,we had to keep the windows open.We were not told about the hot water switch under the sink,until we contacted the owner.We were then told to knock on the apartment door below to ask them to turn down the music,but we did not feel safe doing this because of what they was smoking and if there was any trouble,we felt vulnerable.The front apartment door was constantly wedged open with a piece of wood,which left the property wide open for anyone to enter.The fridge was freezing everything that was put in it.Overall it was a disappointing stay and would not recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Parking space.
Liked least: The area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review my property.
There is no blind on the bathroom window because it is not required. The glass is heavily frosted and it looks out onto a brick wall with a 40ft drop. Therefore, how there could have been steps outside is quite simply a miracle.
Unfortunately, lightbulbs do go from time to time and can easily be replaced with the supply that is left in the kitchen area. I'm sorry you felt you were unable to change the lightbulbs.
I feel I also have to point out that, at the moment, the apartment below is empty therefore, there was certainly no 'party' going on there. I do believe a neighbour further along the street was having a 60th birthday bash and may have played their music a bit loudly however, I have spoken to all the neighbours in the building and they assure me that it wasn't that bad and as it was a one off no one was overly concerned.
I have personally checked out the front door to the building and it seems to be opening and closing perfectly well.
I'm surprised of your disappointment as you gave no hint to this when I was contacting you throughout your stay to make sure everything was OK.
Again, thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Apartment”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Came up for the Festival, the flat is very convenient for Princes street, and the Stand venues in particular.
We immediately felt at home, little things like a pint of milk in the fridge, nice towels and a good WiFi signal make all the difference (Catherine clearly takes pride in her property). It is a very pretty and comfortable place to be.
Had a wonderful week, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for this very kind review. This is much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolacola8...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little apartment in a great location.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We got great service from the lady who owns the apartment from the get go including flexibility on check-in and check out times when requested.

The kitchen was stocked with milk, tea bags and shortbread which we thought was a nice touch.

The apartment is close to the playhouse theatre and the main city centre is a short 5 minute walk away. It's tucked into a quiet enclave giving you a lovely quiet place to stay in pretty much the middle of the city.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. You were perfect guests who are welcome back anytime.

Catherine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kate b
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely but a huge but...”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This is a lovely apartment that is well equipped and comfortable. the outside of the apartment block is a bit of an eyesore with lots of building rubble left piled up by adjacent apartment but the huge 'but' has to be we were here on a Saturday night when apparently someone high on drugs, (we were told this by the owner) smashed their way into the building and smashed the owners other properties windows. The banging on the outside communal door and on the ground floor flat interior door and the windows getting smashed lasted for nearly an hour and a half. We were so terrified to leave the apartment we missed our dinner reservation. We'd also let the phone charger in the car and as the area is a little bit away from any main thoroughfare we were unable to summon any help. Definitely not an experience we ever like to repeat. We will in future use a hotel when we stay in Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of my property.

I do agree that the rubble outside the building is not nice to look at. However, it was clearly there due to the building works next door. This is something we all have to put up with now and again and the workers were doing their best to keep it all in a neat pile.

The incident that happened on the Saturday night was very unfortunate and totally outwith my control. However, I am told that the police were very quick to respond and it was dealt with within 20 minutes.

I'm sorry you felt 'terrified' to leave the building. It's a very safe, secure and quiet area well looked after by the residents.

Apart from the unfortunate incident, I'm glad you enjoyed the apartment and found it to be comfortable and well equipped.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKM62
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location & Value”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This flat was just as advertised.
It is a tiny comfortable flat. It is perfect for a solo traveler (like me) or with spouse/girlfriend or partner. The cable TV is great with lots of channels and the wifi never went down and was very quick.
The flat is a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station and 15 minutes to the Royal Mile. Queen and George Streets are less than 5 minutes away. The Kitchen is nice and will save you lots on dining. The only downside to the kitchen for me was, there was no tea pot or coffee maker. If you like to eat out there are a least a dozen restaurants at your door step. There is a Pub at the top of the lane. Nice place but the staff and locals are not very friendly.
A little tip if you are travelling from North America. The flat is not available until 13:00 hrs. If your flight lands at 8:30 like mine you are sort of stuck. There is a luggage service in Waverley that will charge you 9 pounds per bag. You can drop your bags off and start exploring. Everything is uphill from the flat, the walk home is not too bad, but getting up to Leith St is an effort. This flat is not for older folks or folks who are out of shape.
I loved this little flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Value
Liked least: Lack of towel rack
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2013
Thank you for the very kind review of my flat. I'm so glad it had everything you wanted.
The check in time is usually 2pm however, depending on whether there is a departing guest or not then this can be changed to suit travel times.
Again, thanks for the review and please do come back again soon.
Catherine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing