We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cumberland Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cumberland Street
The Building The Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Cumberland Street
The Building
The Double Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
Enter a caption for your photo
The Building
The well-known Cumberland Bar
Enjoy a walk by the nearby Water of Leith
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Yukoner36
Yukon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This apartment is a perfect place to stay while visiting Edinburgh. The owner, Patrick ,goes out of his way to make sure you know exactly where everything is, lets you know the interesting history of the apartment and sends very useful information beforehand. As soon as we arrived we were so pleased. He has gone Out of his way to think of every little thing you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. All the manuals for all the appliances are on the coffee table along with several guide books for Edinburgh, beautiful picture books and history books about the city, a taxi company card and on and on. The wifi worked perfectly and so did the tv. There is even a record player and fantastic selection of records as well as board games and magazines.The kitchen and bathroom are super clean and well equipped and the apartment has so much character. I especially loved the high ceilings and all the natural light . The bedrooms were clean, the beds very comfy and there is a very large cupboard for storage. Its a fantastic neighbourhood and close to everything. I was very sad to leave actually , and hope to be back soon. You will not regret this choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and character
Liked least: That I had to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
What a fantastic review. Very many thanks. We have been very lucky with our guests and your group were yet another example. Hurry back soon please.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamande...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and comfy”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This flat is in a great location and provides everything you need for a short and sweet stay in Edinburgh. There is no denying that it is small (particularly the bedrooms - not much room for luggage), but, really, don't you want to be out exploring the city???

We loved the exotic (to us) steps leading up to the flat, and the story behind the owner's acquisition of the flat - both giving us a sense of life in Edinburgh at a different time.

The owner was great to deal with - prompt to reply and very accommodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Ah! .. the first time in the last 34 reviews we have dropped below five stars, so we need to work harder. Yes the two bedrooms are cozy but that goes with the territory for a 200 year-old Scottish building of this type. Hopefully the large walk in cupboard in the hall provided sufficient storage and the large kitchen / living room was comfortable. Will check the quality of the kitchen utensils and upgrade accordingly. Also need to check the out the bathroom as it very unusual for us to drop below 5 stars for that. Anyway, many thanks for the comments. Most helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzyCerb
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet but central location in an historic New Town apartment.”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A home from home half way between Princes Street and the Botanic Gardens. We loved the location with corner shop and many and varied restaurants near by. The apartment though small seems very spacious. It is also in a world heritage site with historic character. All you would require and more is supplied, even brollies ,games and music!
Patrick's apartment is beautifully kept. The shower room is modern and we found the beds very comfortable.
We would recommend anyone to stay as Patrick is a very informative host and will quickly answer any questions. He is a mine of information on Edinburgh and all his house instructions are easy to follow. He even supplied a bottle of bubbly and suitable glasses to enjoy it for our arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
We are very grateful for such a positive review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and would be very happy to welcome you back on your next trip to Edinburgh. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz890
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Loved the apartment and Edinburgh”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Would Like to thank Patrick for a great stay in a lovely comfortable apartment. It is situated on a very nice Georgian Street with lots of character. It is only a 10 to 15 minute walk into the centre of the old town and there are numerous places to eat near the apartment. Had everything we could want for our stay - including a Pub on the corner! Patrick greeted us with a bottle of fizz which was very nice, and was on hand if we had any problems.

Would definitely stay here again if we come back to Edinburgh which we hope to do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The T.V. kept switching channels - minor irritation!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh so much and thank you for such a kind review. We would love to welcome you back before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb T
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great flat in great location!”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a really good couple of days here. As described the flat is in a lovely quiet & historic street but close to the centre. It is compact but very well equipped, clean and comfortable - good beds & nice modern bathroom with excellent shower. Patrick couldn't have been more helpful with access instructions & advice for making the most of our stay. Excellent value too! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thanks for such a pleasant, positive review. Very much appreciated. Obviously, we would love to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing