We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortabe accomodation in attractive location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Autumn sunshine at Carlton Terrace Mews
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn sunshine at Carlton Terrace Mews
Spring Carlton Terrace Mews Sunny south facing sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Autumn sunshine at Carlton Terrace Mews
Spring Carlton Terrace Mews
Sunny south facing sitting area
Sunny south facing sitting area
Kitchen/diner
Bedroom1 (kingsize or twin)
Bedroom 2 (kingsize or twin)
Bathroom
Carlton Terrace Mews, quiet city centre living
Carlton Terrace Mews
Period feature in Carlton Terrace Mews
Georgian elegance in nearby Regent Terrace
A light dusting of snow, view from Calton Hill winter 2015
Edinburgh at Christmas
Hogmanay on Calton Hill
Sunrise over Arthur's Seat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Pat W
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but needs more TLC”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Carlton Mews is a great location for holidaying in Edinburgh. It's close to the main tourist attractions yet quiet enough so you get a good nights sleep. However, this not 5 star accomodation. The carpets are quite old and soiled, the general paint work needs attention and the toilet still would not flush (albeit the owner is now attending to it). We found the beds comfortablle (but the lumpy pillows were still present). Also, be warned that while there is parking available in the attached garage,anything larger than a VW Golf,will not fit! To be fair the owner is gradually addressing the issues but rather than a more complete renovation is just addressing issues raised by people during their stay.

In summary, the location is very good but if you are looking for "up market" accomodation you might need to look elsewhere at this stage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Thank you for your comments. The garage is currently comfortably housing an Audi A4, the pillows you used were brand new and the toilet was fully functional for the duration of your stay. I agree that the paint work and carpets are a little tired and we plan a major refurbishment later in the year. However, I would point out that we aim to offer great value for money. The accommodation sleeps 4, less than £25/person/night at your rate, in a prime location in a capital city in peak season. The local three star hotel charges £259 for a standard double room, with no parking at all on a busy main road. Clearly there is a choice to be made here and we would argue that you had exceptionnel value for money for accommodation in a unique, peaceful and central setting, without the 'frills' of an 'upmarket' hotel chain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortabe accomodation in attractive location, within walking distance of City Centre”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found the accommodation charming and an oasis of calm only a few minutes (5-10 mins)walk, or short drive, from the Scottish Parliament, and the Royal Mile, as well as the busy City Centre. Although we did not use it, on this trip, as we came by train,free off street parking is major bonus in Edinburgh.
The cottage was well equipped, our visit coinciding with the arrival of a brand new TV, and the owner was more than happy to sort out any issues that we mentioned, however minor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing in particular springs to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swilly123
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Convenient location but needs some TLC”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh very much, but there are a few things that would very much improve the Mews. There was no heating on when we arrived and the property was very cold and smelt very musty. The technology let us down in that the television (which was very old!) kept loosing its sound; the batteries in the controls were dead and the internet would not connect. The toilet would not always flush and none of the doors closed properly. The bed mattresses were hard and the pillows lumpy and the settee and chairs were also uncomfortable. The mews was mostly clean except for the oven and the kettle badly needed replacing
Some of the things may seem very small, but they would have made a large improvement to our stay and we may have booked again for a return visit as the property is in an excellent location in a very quaint and quiet area and Edinburgh and its people are lovely, but will not be returning to the Mews unfortunately.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Overall comfort
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
I regret that you had problems whilst staying in my accommodation. Had you informed me of these at the time I would have been able to rectify many of them, others may be personal preference- the previous reviewer commented on how comfortable the beds were. However, I am very keen that guests are made as comfortable as possible and I make every effort to ensure that any problems are dealt with efficiently. The Mews now has a new flat screen TV and new pillows. The wi-fi is functioning and we are seeking period replacement doors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dijon, France
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location
Liked least: Messy entrance hall of main building
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for your helpful comments. We take all feedback very seriously and have already installed a keypad entry system for the cottage to avoid any further key issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing