We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apex Grassmarket comes through again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Second stay at this lovely hotel and it did not disappoint!! Will definitely return if ever in the Edinburgh area again! The rooms, the views, the pool, and gym are all A plus!! Can't comment on the restaurant since we ate out for all meals.

Room Tip: View of Edinburgh Castle is a must! We saw fireworks our first night there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 295 of 3,831 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

I stayed for two nights with my Mom and her friend, it was comfortable and inside the hotel it was very quiet. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with checkin, checkout, and helping carry our suitcases up the stairs at entranceway. We had a spectacular view of the castle and of the historic Grassmarket square. We had one breakfast at the hotel restaurant downstairs which was good value and tasty food, very friendly and accommodating staff. We enjoyed the Beehive Inn for dinner one night and Petit Paris(very very tasty meal) the next, both in the square. It is a slight uphill walk about a block to the Royal Mile. We utilized the Hop-on/Hop-off tour bus(stop is right outside the door of the hotel) for a fun day touring around the city! We visited sweet Stockbridge just north of New Town, checked out Holyrood Palace and much more. It was beautiful weather and with that it was quite warm in the room at night but we used the fan provided and it was fine. We could have kept the window open for coolness but during the night we heard a few people making their way home from late night out and various motorcycles revving up their engines in the square below, so we had to mostly keep it closed. It wasn't something that would stop me from booking again here though. The restaurants across the square seemed to be closed quite early so it wasn't patrons from there at all, this area is simply considered downtown, so on a summer night it was a very acceptable low level of activity. (The weeks right before our arrival the city was full swing with their annual summer festival but we arrived after it was all done, and from my point of view I don't think I would book any place downtown at all during a busy time like that if I wanted to have quiet). I would book here again if it was during any non-festival time because of its proximity to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DeeDee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

The room was large with big comfortable beds. The room had high ceilings and the bathroom was recently updated. Just step out the front door and you have a full view of Edinburgh Castle. Great LOCATION!!! Plenty of good restaurants right across the street. The only thing i didn't like is the feather pillows that go flat and gave me a neck crick.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Once again I was lucky enough to get an upgrade to a Castle view room. My flight had me in the city by 11:00 am so I went along to see if per chance my room might be got ready early. It was. On my previous visit I had eaten out but this time decided to try the Tony Singh room service menu, It was brilliant. A mile away from your standard 4 star room service menu.

I had Pulled Pork doughnut with maple and bacon sauce, Punjabi spiced sweetcorn and Burros with salted caramel dip. It would have graced a restaurant table never mind a room service tray. And great value at about £20.

My room was on the 3rd floor directly opposite the Edinburgh Tattoo Arena so I was treated to a firework display late on.

Only 2 minor niggles. The throw cushions on the bed seemed to be breeding. I think there were 8 on each bed and its a bit of a chore to have to remove all of these before you can get into bed. Style over substance on that one IMHO. .The other was that the edge of the shower screen sliced my arm when I reached in to turn the shower on. Possibly a bit more serious that one.

But they are niggles and the combination of the hotel quality and the friendly helpfulness of every one of the hotel crew that I came across means I would definitely make this hotel my preferred accommodation. when visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomtiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The Grassmarket Apex is not an hotel of any architectural merit or of beauty either internally or externally. However it is located in the heart of Edinburgh's happening centre, has a good view up to the castle and benefits from truly helpful staff.

Whilst the decor is tired modern, indeed in places somewhat scruffy the bedroom are spacious and airy, the beds are comfortable and the large windows open to allow access to the fresh and often bracing air of Scotland. There are some areas that could do with improvement. Some rooms have no separate shower units despite having large bathrooms. To shower one has to stand in the bath, this being both inconvenient and difficult for the less athletic. The water pressure in the showers is low and can feel weak.

In the bedrooms there are no standard three pins plugs by the beds. This makes it difficult for those (almost everyone these days) with mobile phones to charge whilst using them in bed or with iPads and similar.

The rooms appear not to have either mini bars or safes.

The hotel staff are great. Very helpful and polite. The breakfast is adequate however it is by no means gourmet.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank HCSACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,737 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,743 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $117 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing