We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & excellent location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The Grassmarket Apex is not an hotel of any architectural merit or of beauty either internally or externally. However it is located in the heart of Edinburgh's happening centre, has a good view up to the castle and benefits from truly helpful staff.

Whilst the decor is tired modern, indeed in places somewhat scruffy the bedroom are spacious and airy, the beds are comfortable and the large windows open to allow access to the fresh and often bracing air of Scotland. There are some areas that could do with improvement. Some rooms have no separate shower units despite having large bathrooms. To shower one has to stand in the bath, this being both inconvenient and difficult for the less athletic. The water pressure in the showers is low and can feel weak.

In the bedrooms there are no standard three pins plugs by the beds. This makes it difficult for those (almost everyone these days) with mobile phones to charge whilst using them in bed or with iPads and similar.

The rooms appear not to have either mini bars or safes.

The hotel staff are great. Very helpful and polite. The breakfast is adequate however it is by no means gourmet.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank HCSACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 338 of 3,876 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We wanted a room with two double beds for our daughters benefit. Having the option a castle view was also very appealing. Whilst I considered the price a bit steep, Edinburgh is an expensive city, especially in August.
Upon arrival the check in system had crashed and this resulted in a bit of a chaotic registration. However we were all quite happy with the room initially.

We took advantage of the discounted meal in the hotel, not really knowing how truly awful Tony Singh food really is! (Separate review).

After our meal we returned to the room to find the tv wasn't working. Apparently this is common and needs resetting but you can't get to the power and have to force your hand behind the set! Only possible if you know where to feel!

The staff offered to pop up but it was very late. We endured the flashing standby light through the night and I complained to the manager in the morning, she agreed to waive the car park charge as compensation (my idea).
Went out for the day, came back, not fixed! Not top service!

Breakfast on the first day was total chaos!! Better on the second day as management we're taking active interest!!

There are positive things to say, Grassmarket is nice and the Castle views are excellent.

However this hotel is largely for those from overseas waiting for the taxi to the airport! I wouldn't stay again! It needs a refurbish and that's ongoing, whilst guests are still being accommodated!!? Try the City of Edinburgh Apex a few paces away, looks nicer!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank smiths47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The Apex is a lovely hotel, with friendly staff and is in a good location to visit all places of interest in Edinburgh. Good to have a car park which is hard to get with hotels so close to the center of Edinburgh

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 238gillw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Stayed here for a birthday weekend and probably caught it at the wrong time with regards to what we paid for a couple of nights, otherwise it offers nothing extra that you can find in most chain hotels and although marketed as being on the luxury side, it isn't.

We were given a "city twin room" with a good view of the castle and to be fair the location in the Grassmarket is ideal if you want to visit the castle or walk the Royal Mile, but the location alone probably dictates the price otherwise we would have opted for further out of the city and used the extra to pay for taxis.

The room while clean is your standard box with an en suite, no breakfast included (you pay extra for that) and the staff themselves all seemed to be Polish or Czech, I never did bother to try and find out which. There is on site parking and we were lucky enough to grab a bay, not sure if this was by luck or design but we were thankful for it.

The hotel menu matched the room rates so we never bothered trying to eat there but found a great little cafe just around the corner. Overall a standard hotel but I wouldn't look to pay such a premium again on my next visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This hotel is smack, bang in the middle of Edinburgh's old town. History surrounds you all the way here. If places could speak this would be one of the most interesting places in the city. The hotel offers a cosy bar and reception area. Some of the rooms are the most sought after visual treats. I really like this hotel,

Stayed: July 2017
Thank jimtrish219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,884 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,783 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,755 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $115 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing