We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Any Room at the Inn”
Review of Rick's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rick's
Ranked #125 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Any Room at the Inn”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I was travelling to Edinburgh for a Client night out and we decided to eat at Ricks whilst my clients stayed at another hotel and i was a late addition the hotel that they stayed in was fully booked, so made sense to book a room at Ricks for ease and comfort on arrival i was greeted by a very friendly lady, i asked if i could leave my case there due to not being able to book in til late in the afternoon and this was at 10am she took my reference number and name and held my case. i returned to the hotel at around 6.30pm after a day of drinking at eating with my clients to be greeted again in a very friendly manner by Paula ( i think she is the manager ) so i asked if i could book in only to be told that they had no record of my booking ( booked through Expedia ) obviously i was a little purplexed as it was looking like i was sleeping in the street, Paula worked her little socks of to find me somewhere to stay but unfortunately all the local hotels were fully booked, so she said that there was a B + B next door and that they had room so after inspecting the room i accepted the room i would also like to mention the people that run the B + B as they were also very friendly and very helpful although in a normal would a lot of people would put this as a negative report i have to disagree as a ) it was booked through a third party ( so they should receive the negative remarks and b) both the hotel and the B + B bent over backwards to fix the issue i will definately be going back to Edinburgh and i will also book through the hotel direct and see what the hotel rooms are like

Room Tip: Book direct to make sure you get the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimster6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    148
    85
    28
    21
See reviews for
24
235
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Just come back from a 2 night stay at ricks and are overwhelmed with how amazing this hotel was! Firstly the staff were extremely friendly, recommending good places to go out. Very quick service, both at the bar and in the restaurant. Food was incredible. Definately recommend the eggs benedict (poached egg to perfection). One tinsy minor room for improvement is the orange juice wasn't fresh.

The room was fantastic - had everything u need. Hair straighteners/hair dryer/tv/DVD/iPod and docking station for music. Really comfy bed and really stylish.

Will definately go back there and would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G4BYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
britain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

we stayed here for 1 night and was in room 8 on the 3rd floor.we arrived early but told we couldnt get room till 2pm so we sat and had a few drinks in bar which was lovely.once checked in the guy carried our bags up to the room.the room had everything you can need including straightners.bed was really comfy and we slept with the glass door open and we didnt find it noisy till about 7am but it was ok.we had lunch which was really good and great service as was the breakfast next morning.it was nice to be served with breakfast instead of buffet.this is a great hotel and will definately return.

Room Tip: ask for a room on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keredu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUNFERMLINE
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at Ricks between Christmas and New Year. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The Room was great, The breakfast was very good. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M16RRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I had high expectations for Rick's after having read so many good reviews but left disappointed. The hotel is in a great location. It's steps away from shopping, bars and restaurants and the hotel bar has a nice ambiance. The room, particularly the bed was very comfortable. There are nice touches like a loaded iPod and hair straightener along w/a blowdryer.

However the bathrooms are quite small and not practical. There are some design flaws such as putting the toilet paper holder so close to the toilet that you have to maneuver so has not to hit yourself. We were in room 2 and were awakened early in the morning first by workers on the street right outside our window, then by the housekeeper who banged on the door at 9:00am. I would have put a "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door to avoid this - but there weren't any in our room!?

The heater/radiator in our room didn't work but the manager was quick to bring a small space heater which was fine given we were only staying for one night. However this same manager had no idea where the stop for the Airport Express bus was when I asked him upon check out. He only offered to call us a taxi. For the record, the airport bus is less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel - I can't believe that a hotel manager doesn't know this basic information for guests!?

Finally the most disappointing thing was the breakfast. The restaurant menu bills itself as "organic and using only the freshest ingredients" -- I haven't had such a bad breakfast in a long time. The "fresh" juice was orange juice from a carton and my friend's Eggs Benedict were awful. The poached eggs were overdone and hard. The Bearnaise sauce was inedible (tasted like a mayonnaise that had gone bad). I ordered a Scottish breakfast with fried eggs thinking those are easier to cook than poached eggs. My fried eggs came out over cooked and hard?! How hard is it to fry and egg?? I couldn't believe it. I sent it back and the second time they were fine.

However all these things added up to a disappointing experience. I think the hotel has seen its' better days. I'm sure it was one of the "the" places to go to when it opened 10 years ago but I got the impression that the place and the staff is getting a bit rundown.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 2 and 3 which are on the ground floor facing a street with a restaurant next door and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ainparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#19 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#101 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rick's

Property: Rick's
Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $227 - $320
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing