We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of Swanston Brasserie

Swanston Brasserie
Ranked #501 of 2,804 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Like everything at Swanston, our Brasserie isn’t fussy, stuffy or old fashioned. Opened in 2007, we offer a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with stunning views of the Pentland Hills and across the city of Edinburgh.Our modern home-made menu is designed from ingredients sourced from local producers and seasonally from our 700 acre farm. Giving our Head-Chef a wide range of fresh vegetables, Highland beef, pork and lamb to select from. We’re working hard to forge a reputation for great tasting seasonal home-made comfort food, from the very best ingredients available.
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely view. Good service and a very nice breakfast. Excellent Haggis with the Scottish breakfast and the french toast with bacon was to die for. And the freshest eggs from their own chickens.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank H8440BOchrism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, General Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi chris m
thanks for you review of Swanston Brasserie.
Glad to read you found the quality of our produce excellent.
look forward to welcoming you again soon at Swanston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Always eyed this place up on passing with the dog but tardis like inside and lovely view of the Forth and Edinburgh. Clean and airy with nice balcony surround. Good facilities and lift access.
Great variety on menu and our food was fresh and of good quality.
The service was, however, appauling. Had to ask for table to be cleaned, more drinks, the pudding menu and bill at end. Nice not to be crowded and rushed but poor service.
Will go back in the summer to see how service is outside

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank V6731MDemmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, General Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi emma g
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Swanston Brasserie.
Delighted to hear you found our food was good quality but disappointed to hear about service.
I would be interested to hear more about your experience and would ask if you would email me directly at wmorrison@swanston.co.uk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

While staying in Swanston holiday cottages we decided to try Swanston Brassiere for dinner. We found the menu to have a great selection of dishes and also some gluten free options. The fish tasted very fresh and was a good sized portion. The desserts we had were delicious, especially the peanut butter cheese cake. Our waitress Tammy was very attentive and added to our throughly enjoyable meal at Swanston Brasserie.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ambassador650285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, General Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Ambassador650285
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Swanston Brasserie while staying onsite in our holiday cottages.
I am glad to hear you were well looked after by Tammy. Our fish dish outsells any other dish on our menu and as a result we buy fresh fillets 6 days a week from the fishmonger. Look forward to seeing you again next time your visiting Swanston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Although regulars for pre-walk scone & coffee, today it was a light lunch with visiting relatives. Thank you Eva, Graham, Iga, Susan and kitchen team for enjoyable food & drink with the usual friendly service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank j0hndb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, General Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thanks j0hndb2018 for leaving such a great review.
Delighted you found the service friendly and the food enjoyable.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

On the 22nd September, 2018, the Swanston Brasserie hosted a truly wonderful wedding reception for my daughter and her husband. Heartfelt thanks, great respect and praise belong with the Manager, Wylie, and his team. Every step of the way, time and care were taken to ensure the reception would be a very true to the couple occasion. And it was, and then some. The planning and preparation were exemplary and led us to a reception which was perfect in the ways we had hoped for, as well as in ways we had not even dreamed of.
The joyful, relaxed atmosphere of the wedding ceremony continued beautifully into the Brasserie. It was in our ideal setting, nestling into the Pentland Hills with breath taking views across Edinburgh. This was particularly special because a number of our guests had come from far flung places.
The amazing service we had over the course of the evening was second to none. It was friendly, warm, well-timed and unobtrusive. The meal was of excellent quality, delicious and enjoyed by all the guests.
Although I have tried to, I do not think I could ever sing the Swanston Brasserie's praises enough. Thank you for giving Christina and Manaba, along with their families and friends, a wedding reception with such happy memories to treasure for evermore.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank J9237RVelizabethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, General Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

To the mother of the bride:
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your, and your daughter and new husbands experience at Swanston Brasserie.This event was a pleasure to organise from start to finish. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, ambiance and food on offer. I am delighted everyone enjoyed the big day!! Hope to see you again soon at Swanston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swanston Brasserie also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Swanston Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing