We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as always”
Review of Swanston Brasserie

Swanston Brasserie
Ranked #500 of 2,802 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Like everything at Swanston, our Brasserie isn’t fussy, stuffy or old fashioned. Opened in 2007, we offer a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with stunning views of the Pentland Hills and across the city of Edinburgh.Our modern home-made menu is designed from ingredients sourced from local producers and seasonally from our 700 acre farm. Giving our Head-Chef a wide range of fresh vegetables, Highland beef, pork and lamb to select from. We’re working hard to forge a reputation for great tasting seasonal home-made comfort food, from the very best ingredients available.
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Although regulars for pre-walk scone & coffee, today it was a light lunch with visiting relatives. Thank you Eva, Graham, Iga, Susan and kitchen team for enjoyable food & drink with the usual friendly service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank j0hndb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, General Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thanks j0hndb2018 for leaving such a great review.
Delighted you found the service friendly and the food enjoyable.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2018

On the 22nd September, 2018, the Swanston Brasserie hosted a truly wonderful wedding reception for my daughter and her husband. Heartfelt thanks, great respect and praise belong with the Manager, Wylie, and his team. Every step of the way, time and care were taken to ensure the reception would be a very true to the couple occasion. And it was, and then some. The planning and preparation were exemplary and led us to a reception which was perfect in the ways we had hoped for, as well as in ways we had not even dreamed of.
The joyful, relaxed atmosphere of the wedding ceremony continued beautifully into the Brasserie. It was in our ideal setting, nestling into the Pentland Hills with breath taking views across Edinburgh. This was particularly special because a number of our guests had come from far flung places.
The amazing service we had over the course of the evening was second to none. It was friendly, warm, well-timed and unobtrusive. The meal was of excellent quality, delicious and enjoyed by all the guests.
Although I have tried to, I do not think I could ever sing the Swanston Brasserie's praises enough. Thank you for giving Christina and Manaba, along with their families and friends, a wedding reception with such happy memories to treasure for evermore.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank J9237RVelizabethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, General Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

To the mother of the bride:
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your, and your daughter and new husbands experience at Swanston Brasserie.This event was a pleasure to organise from start to finish. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, ambiance and food on offer. I am delighted everyone enjoyed the big day!! Hope to see you again soon at Swanston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We visited the Swanston Brasserie with friends when we were in Edinburgh on holiday. We really love this restaurant on the south side of the city, tucked in to the foot of the Pentlands, with great views north across the city. It does take a bit of finding but the turn from Oxgangs Road is well signposted. There is ample car parking which makes a pleasant change in Edinburgh
We had booked a table for the evening and when we entered we were warmly welcomed and given a table with views across the golf course as we had come to chat and catch up rather than admire the view. If it is your first visit ask for a window table looking north.
We visited mid week and the restaurant was fairly quiet with several unoccupied tables.
Drinks orders were taken once we were seated and we were left with the difficult decision of deciding what to select from an excellent menu.
Our drinks arrived and both wine and lager were served chilled to the right degree.
We decided to skip starters and ordered our mains as portion sizes are generous. I opted for the fish and chips. When served the batter was crisp and not at all oily and the chips were golden and crisp on the outside, soft on the inside. All dishes were just as we expected, nicely presented and very good
Throughout service was attentive without being obtrusive and drinks were refreshed as necessary.
The bill was very reasonable and represented excellent value for money.
Would we revisit? Definitely as this is a firm favourite and as it is not in the usual tourist areas still relatively unknown to all but the locals.
If you are in Edinburgh and have a car, fancy watching the sun going down in a beautiful rural setting, then as visit to Swanston is definitely worthwhile.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Achnacloich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, General Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hi Achnacloich

Please accept my warmest appreciation for your recent review of Swanston Brasserie.
It is lovely to read how you enjoyed your Swanston experience from start to finish.
Your review has certainly captured what we are trying to achieve.
I have advised all our staff to read this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Bacon rolls before and a meal after a great round of golf. The service, food and ambiance were flawless. My chilli was suitably hot and the rice as well cooked as you’d want.
Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank ewanc148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks Ewan C for such a splendid review of Swanston. I will pass on your complimentary comments to our kitchen team.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

At the start of a walk we decided to try this place for breakfast. Attentive service and pleasant surroundings with attractive views from the first floor. I'm a bit wary of places attached to Golf Clubs but this was good value. Coffee very good. (We went back at the end of a walk the next day.) Would have been 5 stars if I could have had my porage with healthier fruit instead of honey.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyliemorrison, Manager at Swanston Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hi Claire W

Thanks for your review.
I am glad you like our coffee, service and views.
We have acknowledged your comment about our optional porridge topping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swanston Brasserie also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Swanston Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing