We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous location, apartment and host”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Moorings

Master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom
Outside view Kitchen - very well equipped with all mod cons!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Master bedroom
Outside view
Kitchen - very well equipped with all mod cons!
Blue room
Blue room
Spacious bright Hall
Hall
Hall
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire C
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location, apartment and host”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend this apartment for a base for visiting Edinburgh. It is well looked after and easily catered for the four of us (two teenagers). The location is at the heart of the up and coming Leith and is a short bus ride into Central Edinburgh.

We recommend the Brittania tour, as it was worth every penny, and is a 5 minute walk from the apartment.

Diana was a superb host and went far beyond what we had expected in her kindness and understanding (due to a family emergency).

We both had one of our 'top 5' sleeps ever and didn't notice the traffic, some people had mentioned previously.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower and bed were superb
Liked least: Not long enough stay
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Thanks! 'Specially glad to hear how quiet the apartment now is with the soundproofing having been installed. You needed that sleep for sure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Cla...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home in Leith”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the Moorings for 2 nights – there were 6 of us one night, 8 of us the other for a girlie trip away.
The accommodation itself is lovely – very clean and comfortable. Lovely big dining table (8 chairs) and comfy living room. Good range of cooking utensils, crockery etc.
The apartment is really is a great location. I wasn’t familiar with Leith but it really has its own buzz – lovely restaurants and bars.
It’s about £8 into the city by taxi. We didn’t get buses but they are very frequent and just by the apartment.
Diana was lovely to deal with and remained constantly in communication with me – from before booking right through to saying goodbye.
She was even flexible in allowing us to check in early (about 9am) which was beyond what one could expect. I would very much recommend the Moorings to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal service from the Host - very welcoming
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJC777201...
Coventry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Still Brilliant, As Before”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is my second time staying at this flat. So good the first time, last year, had to return again this year and was lucky to get the dates I wanted.
It's a perfect place to stay, has absolutely everything you could possibly need and Diana puts milk in the fridge and yummy biscuits for your first cuppa when you arrive. Nothing is too much trouble for her, perfect landlady :-). So much on the doorstep and a short bus ride to town. We tend to eat in the local area where there's everyday cafes and restaurants with award winning chefs. Best of both worlds.
I daresay I shall be back again next year.
Highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: There's nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet L
Oldham
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well appointed apartment”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I stayed at the Moorings in May with two friends, the apartment was in a good location and very well appointed and spacious. The down side was that it was very noisy all through the night as Commercial Road was very busy with traffic, if the apartment had been overlooking the cobbled road at the entrance to the apartments may have been less noisy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location was very good
Liked least: the mattresses on the single beds and the traffic noise through the night
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Rita, thanks for your review. This is the only complaint I have had in 12 years about noise, so sorry to hear you found it troublesome and hope the fact that everything else was so nice made up for that. I suppose thats just cities for you! Hope to see you all again tho. Di
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvasurf...
Skipton, Yorkshire
1 review
“Could not ask for better”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I booked this property as my brother and I were running the Edinburgh marathon, as support we took our wives, children and parents with us and every one of us had a fabulous time, made even better by the quality of the accommodation.

This property is clean, tidy, incredibly well appointed and a very well presented. The owner met us and ran through all the features, even supplying a welcome pack with Tea, coffee and biscuits as well as having toys and dvds for the children.

The location is superb for bars, restaurants and all the usual tourist bits. The owner helped make the whole process a simple pleasure.

I cannot recommend this property highly enough and I will definately be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing