We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Kew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kew House
Ranked #6 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to Edinburgh for the weekend and found a real Gem! Nothing was too much trouble for the Hosts.
Ideally placed for Murrayfield and the town centre.
The breakfasts were perfectly cooked and varied. Super local bread and muffins.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDavisHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 539 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

My friend and I stayed here as we thought it would be near Murrayfield for the Scotland v England rugby - we could not have chosen better. It is a 5 minute walk to the stadium and we were the envy of many as we turned in to the driveway after the match! The beauty was that it was also very handy for town too - a 15min walk in the opposite direction takes you to Princes Street and with bus stops outside the door it is an ideal venue for getting about the town.
The house itself was immaculate, breakfast fantastic and the hosts, Alan and Ian, very welcoming. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaldonFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed for two nights when Scotland were playing England at rugby and from the moment that we pulled into the car park (round the back of the house) we were made most welcome! The car park is very tight but Allan guided me in no bother at all! We went in to the lounge to register and got chatting about holidays and places we had been! Our thought was to go out to the cinema on the Friday night. while we were talking Allan went off and found show times for us (this is the level of service we got throughout the weekend) Ian gave us a note of buses we could get and the best places to go for food and drink!

When we got up to our room we discovered it was massive! It had a double bed and a single a small table and 2 chairs, a big tv and a fridge! There were fancy chocolates on the table with some sherry as a welcome! there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room along with hot chocolate and tea cakes mmmmmm! The en-suit shower room was great as well! The only thing that could be changed in the room was a noisey fan (i am nit-picking now)!

There was wine out in the lounge for the guests between 6 and 8. Just little things all the time that really made you feel looked after!

breakfast was fantastic a huge choice and all cooked really well. Allan did the cooking and Ian the entertaining, this got everyone speaking to one an other and made me feel really at home!

Kew house, Ian and Allan made my wife and i feel at home and went above and beyond the call of duty. They made a good weekend Fantastic Thanks Guys hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We where made instantly welcome on arrival by both our hosts
The rooms, breakfast area, lounge...the entrie house is decorated and mainatined to a 5* plus standard...and I mean 5*!!!!
Breakfast - Fantastic!!!! leave enough time and room to try everything
Location - Perfect for the City centre, Murrayfield, Zoo etc...
Hogmanay eve - You have to be quick to get your champagne open before the host does...and even if you do, be assured your glass will never be empty...
The hosts - Kew House is these guys; immaculate, warm and friendly
Recommend this place - Four yes votes from us, cant wait to return...all the best for 2012...
Mike, Jill, Nigel, Mandy

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSCratter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Kew House was highly rated and so my wife and I booked a night there for my trip to Edinburgh. Five minutes after arriving we immediately booked a second night. The building itself is a beautiful 19th-century house but the decor and finishings are very contemporary. It's immaculately clean and all fixtures and fittings are to a high standard. Noise is no issue as the windows have secondary glazing. Each guest is served a wide choice of breakfast in the morning and although some items sounded delicious I couldn't stray any further than the traditional cooked breakfast. I've had a few cooked breakfasts in my time but this was the finest I've had for as long as I can remember. The hosts are very friendly and the atmosphere in the dining room over breakfast is highly convivial.

The location is also great. It's not too far from the zoo (should you be interested in giant pandas) and is just a 15 minute walk into central Edinburgh. The rugby stadium is nearby also and with the main road west not far away it's very convenient for drivers.

All in all I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay in Edinburgh. The owners really put their heart and soul into what they are doing. You really do feel looked after. I don't think you can get that with a hotel in Edinburgh. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Kew House as the ideal city break destination.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,088 reviews
94DR
#4 of 396 in Edinburgh
575 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 396 in Edinburgh
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 Mayfield
#3 of 396 in Edinburgh
989 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 396 in Edinburgh
766 reviews
Fraoch House
#7 of 396 in Edinburgh
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew House

Address: 1 Kew Terrace | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 5JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $198 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kew House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kew House has been awarded the prestigious AA 5 Star Gold rating as well as being one of few guest houses in both the Michelin UK and Europe Guide. We are just 15 minutes walk West of Princes Street and have easy bus access to Edinburgh Airport. Our 6 bedrooms and 1 serviced apartment are stylish and contemporary with everything all guests need whether on business or leisure travel. Toiletries by the White Company. Kew House has free secure parking and free hi-speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kew House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing