We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #148 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed in edinburgh for a week at this travelodge. fab location, only 5 min walk from haymarket and 10 mins from waverley station (about 5 mins to get to the top of Princes St for the shopping and a wee bit longer to the castle depending which way you go) but all within walking distance!
Room was clean and very spacious, en suite spotless! Had lovely river view from the room too!
Food at the hotel was ok (only ate there one night) as far too many other places to eat! (Go to the Turkish Kitchen on Rose St - FAB!)
Staff were all very helpful and friendly (Bar staff, chef, room service and reception)
At only £19/night, this was a bargain. I would deffo recommend this hotel to everyone (and i am picky as i usually stay in 4/5 star accomodation).

Room Tip: get a higher level room (the hotel has 5 floors) with a river view (as opposed to facing the car par...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveller140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,297 - 1,301 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here for one night last month and thank god we hadn't booked to stay any longer! We booked a family room.

When we arrived the room was not ready the double bed was made and clean but the second bed was not made, we went down to reception to ask for the second bed to be made up, they were very helpful and said they would see to it. We went out into town and when we returned they had left bedding on the second bed for us to make up ourselves.

Bathroom-clean but shabby with mouldy grouting. No toilet roll had to ask staff for some which never came and in the end I went to get some myself.
Carpet-afraid to take our shoes off.
Walls-dirty with paper peeling off coffee/tea spilled down the walls.
In the hallway outside our room the fire alarm was broken and hanging off the wall!!
In the carpark there were exposed electric cables at child height.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights (Fri & Sat) on a £10 per night deal, which is obviously a fantastic price! It's a typical Travelodge - basic but functional and perfectly adequate when you don't intend to spend much time in the room (which are now getting a bit worn and shoddy)

I know Edinburgh well so knew that it was around 10 - 15 mins walk into the centre, which was fine with us.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but the prices on the menu looked reasonable.

Our main problem was with the cleanliness of the first room we were allocated. Immediately when we entered there was an overpowering smell of air freshener, so we opened the window and thought nothing more of it. It wasn't later on that we noticed the carpet at one side of the bed was wet - we suspect that something had been spilled that smelt bad and the air freshener was masking it. I also noticed that the bathroom was dirty in parts - there was scum all over the bath taps and the grouting was terrible. However, after speaking to reception they were happy to move us into another room for the second night, which was fine.

We might have paid just £10 per night, but I still expect cleanliness. If the first room had been clean would have given 4 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The room itself was fusty and VERY basic. There were no drawers for garments - just 6 hangers! A small table and chair with a tv on the wall. The bathroom wasn't great as it had mould and damp on the walls and the shower curtain was very fusty.
You can't fault the location. We got taxis to town as we had a less mobile person with us but you could easily walk. Taxis were about £6-10 to George St and Princes St. The Modern Art Gallery is right outside the door of the hotel and well worth a visit.
The staff at the hotel were great however and very helpful. Really friendly people which made up for the hotel being as basic as it was. Breakfast was also basic but what more do you want really to set you up for the day than croissants, bacon, eggs, sausages, cereal, toast and yoghurts.
Parking was £3 per 24hours which is great value.
Overall you get what you pay for and for £39 a night in a great loaction you can't grumble!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The hotel is not so bad, but far from city center, it took us about 30 min to go to Sir Walter Scott`s monument. My room was rather clean, but the furniture (except bed) was a bit dated, with many scratches. The breakfast was not bad, the variety of products was not wide, but the quality was ok. You should mention you room number to take table-ware. You can use free wi-fi in breakfast area. Reception staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oly_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#135 of 150 in Edinburgh
131 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#136 of 150 in Edinburgh
658 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#110 of 150 in Edinburgh
383 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Edinburgh

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $78 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing