We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”
Review of Lyncliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lyncliff Hotel
Ranked #198 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
perth (the original Scottish one!)
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Booked a family room for my wife, our adult daughter and myself for the night of our son's wedding. Greg was extremely helpful when booking, no problem making the room available at 12 noon so we could change ready for a taxi to the wedding venue at 1pm. Well aware that room was not ensuite; on arrival found room clean and functional, decent wardrobe space. Facilities a few feet away, toilet acceptable, shower had excellent hot water at good pressure - only wee comment would be that a bi-fold door would help rather that contorting oneself opening the full size door in the limited space. Good breakfast, Greg asked how the wedding had gone and was very attentive. For a short stay, this wee place did the business - central, parking at the door at weekends, friendly service and a clean room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faircityrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2010

The B&B is set in a great location, not too far from Waverley station, or the town centre. The owner is very friendly and catered to all of our needs. We were staying in Edinburgh to run the half marathon, as such he asked upon arrival what we would like for breakfast, and specifically what time. Due to us running it was quite early, but this was no problem for him. Whilst we were participating he allowed us to leave our bags in our room and upon return we changed and had a shower, despite it being past our check-out time. He was very accommodating to our needs.

The hotel itself is quite basic, not somewhere you'd go for a luxurious stay, but definitely worth what you pay for it. If you want a friendly place to stay, where you're just going to be sleeping in your room and no more, then I'd recommend this hotel definitely.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaentae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

I do not understand how can some place be allowed to keep the name of "Hotel" in Greta Britain. The standard on this island is abysmal ! This was not even at a par of a Hostel. Shared toilet, shared shower, cramped room, bed backing the large window letting the light through somne worn out venetian blinds. Strong yellow and green coloured strips of wall paper on the ceiling, cracks on the side walls. A real dump ! And we paid £75 per night.
For goodness sake do not people from GB travel the world and see what one can get for this nightly rate elsewhere ? It is shameful.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nino54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goyong, Manager at Lyncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear new Guests and previous Guests,

Just to let you know that old negative comments from 1995,96,97,98 till end of 2011 are old and we appreciated and learned from that, and we are trying our best to improve our service and to please our new guest and previous customers who already stayed with us. Now we have some changes in our Lyncliff Hotel, B&B,Edinburgh, we have a lot of improvement specially in our rooms, new decor, new fresh color, freeview tv, new modern deco room heating, modern lighting, new mirror and comfortable beds. We are still considering other improvements / changes in the future to beat the competition here in the City of Edinburgh when it comes to accomodation.
Hope you will give us a chance to prove that we are really serious in giving you a very good, much better or an excellent services as we are committed to hospitality business.

Kind regards,
Lyncliff Hotel B&B, Edinburgh City / Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Good thing about the hotel is the location which is within 10 min from the Waverly Station. I stay in the hotel for 2 nights in May 2008. The hotel environment is like you're staying in the house with the bathroom and toilet outside. Room, toilet, bathroom are clean and in good condition. There is a basin inside the room although a bit noisy you can hear the sound of the running water using by the occupant next door and also the sound of them talking. The wireless internet connection inside the room is marvellous. Breakfast is fresh and nice. They have the vegetarian food as well, Overall the stay was good and worth it for money.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank RosesladyRoseslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2005

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of July, 2005. Their website says that they have free on-site parking. Upon arriving, I asked where we should park. The woman who checked us in said that we could try to find a spot on the street, or try to find a place to park somewhere in town. The street has about 50 parking spots, and there are approximately 8 hotels and numerous apartments and homes on the block. I also thought our room was en-suite, which it was not. Normally, this wouldn't be a big deal, but there was 1 toilet and 2 showers for the whole floor (about 8-10 people). And, the toilet didn't work all of the time! It was VERY difficult to flush, so more than half of the time I went to use it, it wasn't flushed properly. The bathroom was pretty gross in the respect, and smelled of urine. The showers were tiny, and next to impossible to get into. My husband and I are both tall and thin, and we had trouble manuvering our way in and out! They had shower doors that opened up to the hallway door, making it a VERY tight squeeze to get into the shower. The water would be hot, then cold, and the shower was VERY loud. The shower rooms were also covered in mildew and mold from the lack of ventilation. The bed in the room was also VERY uncomfortable. There were springs that kept poking us in the side or back that made sleep difficult. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, either. Overall, for the money, it is NOT worth it. There are numerous other hotels and B & Bs in Edinburgh that are FAR better than this one.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank McBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goyong, Manager / Proprietor at Lyncliff Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2007
Dear Trip Advisor,

Thanks for presenting the comments of our previous guest who stayed in our Hotel.
Now Lyncliff Hotel has new comfortable beds.
The bathroom has new attractive tiles and much cleaner. The Dining room is newly decorated with a comfortable leather chairs.
Full cooked breakfast is served and included with the rate.
Lyncliff Hotel has still an original feature and designed by architect William Playfair dated 1800. It should be treated unique compare to the new buildings according to the size either bigger or small shower. But gladly the toilets and bathroom in this place are spacious .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#124 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Lantern Guest House
#135 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#157 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#150 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyncliff Hotel

Property: Lyncliff Hotel
Address: 4 Windsor St., Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $136 - $433
Hotel Class:2 star — Lyncliff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lyncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyncliff Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing