We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
118
40
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
40
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arthur's seat dalkeith road with en suite facilities holyrood park royal commonwealth pool bus or taxi front of the house salisbury arms helpful hosts small bathroom perfect place to stay excellent location within easy walking distance every morning stayed two nights convenient location high ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We have just had a weekend break in Edinburgh and stayed at this lovely B & B.
We found it to be very warm clean and very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. It took us about 30 mins to walk to what I would call the main attractions. Taxis are also very easy. Great weekend

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 6mic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Parking was on the street and much more difficult than expected. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Rooms were a little dated. Outlets were very inconveniently placed. Breakfast Food was very tasty, with a lot of options. WiFi was good.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jtrvlr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I booked this guest house at late notice but was well surprised when I was greeted by the lovely Margret and Dave. The room was beautiful and very clean. I felt like a princess! The room was really grant
Breakfast was basic but of good quality.
Thank you for making my night peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarineP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This last spring my parents on I were on a long awaited trip to Scotland. I fell very ill and was hopitalized the third day in Edinburgh. My parents were moved from B&B to B&B for the first several days, as our plan had been to move on to Glasgow the day I fell ill and most places were fully booked. On about the fourth night of this moving from place to place my parents ended up at the Gifford house. David and Margaret took my parents in and made sure they didn't have to move again. Finally after nine days in the hospital, I came home to Gifford House. I can't begin to explain how grateful I am that my parents had David and Margaret to take care of them. I spent my last three days at Gifford before being allowed to fly back home to the US. The rooms were amazing, the food was outstanding, and the feeling of being home was irreplaceable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivaDeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We just returned from a long trip to the UK, and one of the high points was staying at Gifford House in Edinburgh. It was like staying in a friend's home. Margaret was so kind and helpful answering our questions and providing information. Our room was deluxe -a large room with high ceilings and tall windows and comfortable chairs for sitting and relaxing at the front of the house. The breakfasts were delicious. We walked to Arthur's Seat from Gifford House, within easy walking distance, as was town by bus or taxi. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room was #4 on the front of the house, a huge, comfortable room. Street noise only an issue when the windows were open, quiet otherwise.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SusanS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews