We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
119
41
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
41
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arthur's seat friendly hosts dalkeith road with en suite facilities royal commonwealth pool bus stop salisbury arms front of the house city centre small bathroom perfect place to stay excellent location excellent breakfast within easy walking distance stayed two nights high ceilings very pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The staff were fantastic. Very lovely and the breakfast was positively amazing! The room itself was very clean, spacious and very comfortable. Looking out the window, you can see Arthur's seat in the distance - only a 5-10 minute walk away. A bit far from the Royal Mile, but still within a brisk 25 minute walk. Would definitely stay again! Cannot speak highly enough of the staff!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yeomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed at the Gifford House for 4 nights. We thank very much Margaret and David for their welcome.
We had the spacious room n° 5 : calm, comfortable, very clean, TV with big screen, different sorts of tea, coffee, cakes. sweets, very good breakfast...
We would definitevely come back and recommend this B&B.

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank veronique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night while visiting Edinburgh for the Christmas market and to see Mamma Mia. I give this a rating of 5 as the couple who run the Guest House were very friendly and welcoming.We had a lovely spacious room with 2 single beds and a double. Breakfast was great. The couple were also very helpful advising us about local buses and where to go.
Would definitely recommend Gifford House.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Myself and my 2 daughters stayed at Gifford house for one night while Christmas shopping, this guest house is lovely, Margaret made us feel very welcome , the housekeeping is excellent and to a very high standard, we had a large room with very comfortable beds, the Gifford guest house is a 20 minute walk into the center of Edinburgh and there is a bus stop on the doorstep, we found it just as easy to jump in a taxi for a 5 minute trip to princess street, the following morning we were welcomed into the dinning room by David who brought us tea and toast while our hot breakfast was being prepared and it was delishes and set us up for our final last minute shopping befor we cought our train home , I would highly recommend this guest house and would like to thank Margaret and David again for our wonderful stay

Room tip: We had a family room ad it was very large and bright
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank juliehall950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Gifford House is a traditional B&B which is a reasonable distance out from the centre of Edinburgh. It would be possible to walk into town fairly easily, but we usually got one of the apparently frequent buses in and out which only takes around 15 mins. Our room was a family room - although there were only 2 of us. It was very spacious, nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and had a lovely view over to Arthur's Seat - which we walked up directly from the B&B on the 2nd full day of our stay. The breakfasts, which were taken in a stunning and very beautifully decorated dining room, were delicious. There was plenty of choice of both cold and hot food, the hot breakfasts being very hearty but nicely cooked. On our last morning due to a mid-morning flight home we had to leave too early for the cooked breakfast but the landlord kindly left out a fridge full of good stuff, with fresh rolls and other snacks which set us up for for DIY breakfast and a packed lunch as well! If I had any small criticism it would be that it would have been nice to have had more choice of different teas in the room alongside the usual tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Sometimes it is nice to have a non-caffeinated drink (such as herbal tea) before bedtime. However this is only a very minor quibble - and overall this is an excellent establishment, providing a very comfortable stay. We would definitely stay again and recommend this to others looking to stay in the amazing city of Edinburgh!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhp2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews