We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, non-intrusive stay”
Review of Gifford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gifford House
Ranked #77 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We had a lovely one night stay in this guest house. As we normally stay in a hotel not someone's home, I was a bit nervous that the owners would be too "chatty". This was not the case. Margaret was welcoming but just let us get on with our stay.
The room was perfect, toiletries, hairdryer, tv etc all great. Breakfast was perfect and into the bargain we had a beautiful view of Arthur's Seat.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 2 - sleeps three with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank purplechrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017

The staff were fantastic. Very lovely and the breakfast was positively amazing! The room itself was very clean, spacious and very comfortable. Looking out the window, you can see Arthur's seat in the distance - only a 5-10 minute walk away. A bit far from the Royal Mile, but still within a brisk 25 minute walk. Would definitely stay again! Cannot speak highly enough of the staff!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yeomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed at the Gifford House for 4 nights. We thank very much Margaret and David for their welcome.
We had the spacious room n° 5 : calm, comfortable, very clean, TV with big screen, different sorts of tea, coffee, cakes. sweets, very good breakfast...
We would definitevely come back and recommend this B&B.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank veronique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night while visiting Edinburgh for the Christmas market and to see Mamma Mia. I give this a rating of 5 as the couple who run the Guest House were very friendly and welcoming.We had a lovely spacious room with 2 single beds and a double. Breakfast was great. The couple were also very helpful advising us about local buses and where to go.
Would definitely recommend Gifford House.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Myself and my 2 daughters stayed at Gifford house for one night while Christmas shopping, this guest house is lovely, Margaret made us feel very welcome , the housekeeping is excellent and to a very high standard, we had a large room with very comfortable beds, the Gifford guest house is a 20 minute walk into the center of Edinburgh and there is a bus stop on the doorstep, we found it just as easy to jump in a taxi for a 5 minute trip to princess street, the following morning we were welcomed into the dinning room by David who brought us tea and toast while our hot breakfast was being prepared and it was delishes and set us up for our final last minute shopping befor we cought our train home , I would highly recommend this guest house and would like to thank Margaret and David again for our wonderful stay

Room Tip: We had a family room ad it was very large and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank juliehall950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Ard-na-said
#13 of 396 in Edinburgh
395 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 396 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Dunedin Guest House
#158 of 396 in Edinburgh
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#2 of 396 in Edinburgh
766 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 396 in Edinburgh
867 reviews
Antler Guest House
#49 of 396 in Edinburgh
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gifford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gifford House

Address: 103 Dalkeith Rd., Edinburgh EH16 5AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $120 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gifford House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gifford House is an elegant 4 Star GOLD guest house located one and a quareter miles from the Royal Mile.David and Margaret the resident owners like to offer their guests a high quality of comfort and serviceAll our rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard with your comfort in mind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gifford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gifford House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing