We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gifford House
Nearby Hotels
USD 144*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 336*
USD 214*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
USD 133*
USD 126*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
USD 102*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 106*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 208*
USD 192*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 231*
USD 210*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 319*
USD 296*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
USD 176*
USD 138*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 105*
USD 79*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
113
35
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
35
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarthur's seatholyrood parkbus stoproyal commonwealth poolwould highly recommend this guest housedalkeith roadfront of the houselovely hostslocal busessmall bathroomvisiting edinburghrooms are spaciousperfect stayexcellent locationwithin easy walking distanceevery morninggreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Having come back to Gifford House for the third time (after 2009 and 2012),
we still like this place very much. And old townhouse a little south of the
Commonwealth Pool, this establishment is ideally situated for visiting Edinburgh.
The nearest bus stop is right across the street with buses going to the center
every few minutes. Approach by car is also pretty easy from the Edinburgh City
Bypass. There is free on-street parking in the surrounding streets although finding
a space can get difficult at times (we have always been quite lucky in this respect).
Margaret and David do a very good job of making you feel comfortable and at home. They provide you with additional information you might need: interesting things to see and do, places
to eat, the best way to reach the airport, etc.
In the morning a delicious breakfast sets you off for the day.
The rooms we have stayed in so far (#5 and #2) were very nice and comfortable with
small but modern and functional ensuites.
Gifford House gives you good value for money and we would return any time and also
recommend the place to anyone going to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We had room 2 for the second time as a double, but it actually sleeps three (one double and one single bed). The room is very spacious and faces the rear, away from the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank uquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed here, for a total of four days, at the start and the end of our trip to Scotland, and we loved it. The rooms are lovely and very clean. Breakfast is delicious, and David's porridge is especially tasty. Margaret and David are warm and helpful in every way, For example, they provided insights into the best seats for the Tattoo and answered other questions in emails months before our visit, and then gave us suggestions about where to eat, how best to get into the center of Edinburgh, etc., once we arrived. Another example of their hospitality was David's inquiry if those of us leaving early for the airport would like a breakfast set out. This is a lovely place, and the hosts are charming.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLauner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Parking was off street ? Was safe.
Nice people but thought it was expensive but then Edinburgh is pricy.
Good breakfast. Clean room. Good wifi.
We ate in to local pubs.
We took a taxi into town. £8.00 . So a little out of town.
The toilet and shower room are very cramped.
Rooms at the back are quiet.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank athena130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here in the last 14 months. David and Margaret are great hosts, and I found the place to be clean and quiet.

I am a golfer, so you cannot get much closer to the Prestonfield Golf Course. Plus, the bus stops right in front of the place if you want to go into town.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the house are louder due to street noise. The windows, when closed, keep much of that noise out.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 82-Ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We are actually still staying here, but I love this place so much I wanted to post a review!
My wife and I are traveling on our honeymoon and we are so happy we found this place to stay! I run a large wedding and event venue in Colorado and my wife runs and manages 20 international hotels and so to say we are particular about where we stay would be an understatement! LOL this place is incredibly beautiful. It's well located and easy to get to. There's tons of stuff to do around here with easy transport, a bus stop just outside and a lot of great places to walk nearby. Arthur's seat is a great nearby nature walk with stunning views. We came for the Edinburgh fringe Festival and are staying for another week to explore Scotland. The room we're staying in is very clean and comfortable, really beautiful, well lit, beautiful view. The bed is very comfortable, free Wi-Fi. Breakfast is served every morning and it's really great fresh food. I've become a huge fan of David's porridge! The salmon and eggs also wonderful. Margaret and David are incredibly kind and gracious hosts. When we informed them that our plans were flexing a little bit, that we wanted to stay longer, they went out of their way to make it easy for us to do so. I cannot speak highly enough about this place. We have not even left yet but I want everyone to know what a wonderful place it is. I think that there are a few places that you will find that will match the quality of the experience and the kindness of the hosts. We both highly recommend this place without any hesitation!

Room Tip: Number 5 has a lovely view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zenguitardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews