We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage with everything one need for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Double bedroom with garden views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom with garden views
Fully fitted kitchen - shared with office during the day- Monday to Friday
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Double bedroom with garden views
Fully fitted kitchen - shared with office during the day- Monday to Friday
Private living area with views to Arthur's Seat
Garden detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 1
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ankica K
Skopje
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with everything one need for pleasent stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a perfect choice ! We stayed at St.Margaret’s cottage for a week in Jun, and we were very pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness, hospitality and welcome we received. Located in the quiet residential area of Edinburgh but yet with easy access to the city center by bus, the cottage had all amenities we need. We especially loved our morning coffee and evening glass of vine in the garden, so quiet and green. Fiona was very kind and helpful. She gave us a lot of information about Edinburgh and surrounding area. The Portobello promenade is in walking distance from the cottage and it is really worth seeing. We loved our stay at St. Margaret’s cottage and we highly recommend it. Thanks Fiona!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! Glad you enjoyed and hopefully we might see you again in the future. Best wishes, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable base from which to explore Edinburgh and play golf locally.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were looking for a property from which to explore Edinburgh, and which would also be close to the East Lothian coast (for a visit to the Open at Muirfield, and to play some links golf) - St Margarets Cottage proved to be the perfect location, as it was only a 40 minute walk into the city, and a 20 minute drive to the coastal links. As a bonus, the local beach at Portobello was only a 15 min walk. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable, with plenty of take-away and eat-in restaurants nearby. The owner was very welcoming, and made arrival and departure arrangements straightforward.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Tight parking
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
Thanks again for your stay! Hope you can come back soon, best wishes, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigAl1674
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Cottage very comfortable, warm and central.
Fiona gave us great advice on the best way to get into Edinburgh (Lothian Busses...great app to download onto your phone) going by bus best way, either a 44 or 5 service into central Edinburgh.
Edinburgh is vibrant and there is always something to see or do.
Extra bonus...10 min walk to Portobello Beach. Plenty of space and very clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location and access to the city
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamieplan...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for city,beach and beyond”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed for a week during the Fringe Festival and found it to be a good location, easy to get into the city using the buses. The beach is only a short walk which is beautiful and well worth a visit.
The cottage was really clean and well equipped, there was everything we needed for a week. Fiona was very helpful and was always available to answer any questions or get directions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Single beds a bit lumpy
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy E
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were made very welcome over Christmas”
Reviewed 5 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely family Christmas in Edinburgh, and were made very welcome by Fiona. She had arranged a decorated Christmas tree and other decorations for us, and made sure that we had all the pans and dishes we needed to make our Christmas dinner. The cottage was lovely and warm, and very comfortable. The buses into town stop very near the cottage, and are very frequent. We really enjoyed the National Museum of Scotland in Edinbugh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and comfortable, handy for the bus
Liked least: No Freezer
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing