We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
115
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre comfortable bed two nights morningside buses toiletries meadows
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed in Alexanders Rooms for three nights beginning of July 2016. It was our first stay in Edinburgh. We felt immediately at home thanks to Keith, a very friendly host. The room was quiet and beautiful. The breakfast was luxurious. The location in the neighborhood called Morningside is perfect for visiting the city and there are great coffeeshops nearby. Really highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Antonia-Elisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. We can only say our stay was faultless.

We had arrived by train to Edinburgh city centre and caught the bus for the 20 minute journey. The bus stop is on the Morningside Road and conveniently right across from Albert Terrace. (Use the free Lothian Bus app - it's brilliant and you can't go wrong. Plus, the buses have free Wi-Fi). Day bus tickets are only £4 per person and a great many bus services are just within a short walk. It proved so easy to get anywhere we wanted.

It was a very short walk to 10a Albert Terrace, and once there you could be a million miles from any hustle and bustle, it's such a peaceful place, full of charm and character.

Keith was there to greet us and showed us to our room and told us about all the facilities we had access to. He made us feel so welcome and suffice to say we couldn't have asked for more.

Our room was very comfortable and spacious with a lovely view over the well kept garden. There were lots of little treats left out for us on the table in the little bay window. Equally, there was plenty of storage in the big wardrobe for our clothes.

Tea and coffee was available whenever we wanted and we just had to help oursleves to this from the little but wonderfully stocked kitchen next door. The toilet and bathroom were also very close and well stocked and clean.

We also had free access to the sitting room that again overlooked the lovely garden. However, we didn't need to make much use of this as it was so easy to get out and about.

It's worth noting that all facilities are on one floor and so very easily accessible.

Keith was always there to say hello and ask us about our day and if there was anything we wanted or needed. But he was never obtrusive, only very helpful.

This is a very lovely place to stay with a very warm welcome and made our short break very special. We'll definitely be back to stay here again.

Thank you very much Keith.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We had a really nice time at Alexanders Room; charming room, very nice atmosphere; Keith is a great host and a wonderful person; delicious breakfast. Morningside is a very nice district, only 15 minutes walk from city centre. Our first adress when we come back to Edinburgh

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank aosterrieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We booked in here for 2 nights due to an unexpected change in plan and could not have been happier with our choice. The location is superb, quiet and very pretty and just a short walk from Morningside with all it has to offer. The free parking at Alexanders is a real help and makes for a very flexible stay, being able to pop out and about whenever you need - we went to Leith and South Queensferry. The accommodation is excellent, very clean and comfortable and you are made to feel it is your home from home, absolutely everything you need is there, Keith even offered us umbrellas when the usual Scottish weather arrived! Cannot praise this place enough, it is perfect in every way and we look forward to a return very soon.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms and they are both excellent
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LindaA45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I stayed here with my partner and my parents, using both available rooms.
Keith was great, very welcoming and helpful with a walking route in to the town and bus numbers.
The rooms are huge compared to many I've been in, great facilities and very quiet which is welcome after a day in the vibrant hustle and bustle of Edinburgh.
Breakfast included everything I could have wanted, we barely made a dent in it either morning!
Thanks Keith, we will be back I'm sure!

Room Tip: Both are fantastic and big, the rear room looks out over the garden, the front is slightly bigger and darker for those summer lie-ins!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank merrymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews