We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
115
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre comfortable bed two nights morningside buses toiletries meadows
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Our host Keith could not have been more welcoming. Furnished stylishly but nonetheless welcoming and cosy, we had a fantastically comfortable bed to sink into, big comforty armchairs, beautiful lamps, and loads of room to unpack.The living room was equally stylish and inviting. With a big dining room table, plenty of room was available to eat in style and comfort. Not jostling for space here!
The living room looks out onto a wondefully secluded walled garden. The bathroom and toilet were spotlessly clean. The kitchen had everything you would need to prepare a mail and Keith supplied all you would need to make yourself coffee and tea.
The location itself is just a bonus. I would travel far from the city centre to feel so much at home but despite its feeling of peace and serenity, Morningside Road is but a minute away. From the busstop more or less at the end of Albert Terrace, you can wing your way to St Giles Cathedral on the Royal Mile, down to Prince's Street, directly to the beach at Portobello to name but a few of the destinations within easy grasp by bus.

Room Tip: We stayed in the master bedroom that looks out on the front - it was quiet but i'm fairly sure that goes for all of the rooms
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We stayed with Keith for some days at the beginning and end of our Scotland holiday in August 2015. It is a lovely Victorian villa, very quiet and surrounded by a nice little garden, furnished and looked after with great care, taste and joy.

Although we arrived very late the first night (even later than announced) Keith welcomed us warmly and we felt we liked this place instantly. In the morning Keith served a wonderful breakfast with everything you could wish for, even a freshly made smoothie. What made it even nicer was that we had it in the living room of the host together with two other guests.

We felt completely comfortable and by then it already indicated what we felt very clearly when we came back a second time at the end of our holiday: It was like coming home to a friend's house - thank you, Keith!

Whenever we'll come back to Edinbourgh we'll definitely stay at Keith's.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank El W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Three of us have just stayed for two nights with Keith while we were visiting Edinburgh University. We had high hopes as Keith's reviews are excellent and we were not disappointed. Our bedroom was spacious and truly comfortable with all the extra touches that make one feel really at home - fresh fruit, lovely snacks,a kitchen to make drinks, as well as being able to sit in the beautiful sitting room.The generosity of spirit is what makes the difference. Our daughter also had a lovely room and we all really enjoyed Keith's company which is kind and solicitous without being at all intrusive.
We did not find sharing the bathroom any inconvenience as robes are provided, and chatting over a delicious breakfast was a treat.
Morningside is a delightful area, full of cafes and independent shops, and it is a lovely walk into town from there which was useful as we ate very well indeed!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KatyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

Just returned from my fourth stay at Alexanders Rooms. The flat is in a simply perfect location, just off Morningside Road which is full of independent shops, restaurants and cafes; a bus stop for city centre buses is within a 3 minute walk, alternatively you can walk to city centre in an easy 20 minutes, either over the Meadows or down Bruntsfield Road. The B&B is exceptionally quiet and you are woken only by birdsong from the garden in the mornings. Both rooms equally charming, warm, quiet and comfortable. Shared bathroom no problem due to provision of robes and slippers, as well as countless other thoughtful touches. Keith is a perfect host, he knows instinctively how to make guests feel at home, either chatting or leaving you in privacy. I always stay when visiting my daughter who has student accommodation nearby, and feel extremely safe and welcome. Keith even invited my daughter for breakfast this time, a delicious treat for us both and provides enough sustenance until dinner time. Recommend eating at nearby Nonnas Kitchen or the Salt Cafe, but lots of other choices, and the lovely Dominion cinema is within 5 mins walk. Can't wait to return next year.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We stayed at Alexander's Rooms for two nights in early November - everything about the stay was just wonderful. Keith is a delightful host who clearly loves looking after people. He is attentive without being intrusive and welcomed us into his home as though we were lifelong friends.

Keith has just two rooms and in addition to the lovely airy bedroom, with its wonderfully comfortable bed made up with top quality bed linen,he offers his guests the use of his lovely sitting room which is tastefully decorated and furnished with beautiful pieces of furniture and artworks.

Keith's kitchen is available to make hot drinks, and a basket in the bedroom overflows with well chosen little snacks - crisps, chocolate, biscuits and even a small decanter of whiskey! No tatty kettles and sachets of instant coffee here!

The location is wonderful - a very elegant and quiet side street off Morningside Road means that guests can enjoy a peaceful nights sleep yet still be just a pleasant walk from the city centre.

Our room looked out over Keith's lovely garden which guests are welcome to use - unfortunately the weather was unkind to us so we could only enjoy it from the inside!

Breakfast was just amazing - fresh fruits, yogurts, cheese, ham, pastries, breads, preserves, juice, smoothies and endless coffee or tea - again, nothing was too much trouble for Keith - he was quietly attentive throughout a breakfast which just simply couldn't have been bettered. Keith even gave us a picnic to enjoy on our journey home!

All in all, Alexander's Rooms is without doubt the most perfect bed and breakfast in Edinburgh - or indeed anywhere else. I just wish we could have stayed longer!

Thank you Keith - we will be back!

Pete and Janey

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews