We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming and gracious flat perfectly situated”
Dunbar's Close gardens behind the apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dunbar's Close gardens behind the apartment
Looking down Royal Mile towards the apartment Well equiped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Dunbar's Close gardens behind the apartment
Looking down Royal Mile towards the apartment
Well equiped kitchen
Warm stylish modern bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Bright South Facing Living Room
Make yourself an espresso...
...settle back and relax
Quiet bedroom overlooking gardens
Minutes walk from the large Holyrood Park
Entrance to Dunbar's Close Gardens
Inside Dunbar's Close gardens
view of the apartment from the gardens
The front of the apartments on the Royal Mile
the Queen's palace at Holyrood, just down the road
View from the apartment window
View of Arthurs Seat taken from the rear of the apartment
Looking down on Holyrood from Arthurs Seat
View from the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joann2050
Ocean Ridge, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming and gracious flat perfectly situated”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There is much to appreciate in the Secret Garden flat, so named because the bedroom faces a lovely garden and thus is quiet and relaxing. The kitchen is very nicely appointed with some beautiful glassware, good quality cutlery, an espresso machine, and all one would need. The bathroom is modern and includes heated floor and towel rack, high quality towels, and hotel-like amenities. The living/kitchen area faces the Royal Mile. We heard street noise, but nothing unpleasant. When the bedroom door is closed, no noise penetrates the bedroom, which has a very comfortable bed. The owners, Sandra and David, clearly have done all they can to make the flat a pleasure to inhabit. We arrived on July 4 and Sandra had set out a plate of local fudge with tiny US flags for decoration. Renters should note that the flat is three flights up, so it's not suitable for people who can't climb stairs. When we return to Edinburgh, we will gladly return to the Secret Garden flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed kitchen, very comfortable bed, owners who are eager to be accommodating. The flat is a short walk to so many things.
Liked least: The windows don't fit well in their frames, letting in more street noise than more modern ones would.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review the apartment and thank you also for your kind comments. We so enjoy our communication with guests from all over the world and it was such a pleasure to meet you. I do hope you will stay again. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMari...
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in every way”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I am pleased to add my voice to the chorus of positive reviews for this wonderful flat. It was perfect for me, a middle aged American woman traveling alone to Edinburgh for the first time. Every email was replied to promptly and thoroughly by Sandra. She gave me excellent directions (I walked from the train station) and she and David were there to greet me after a long train ride from London. The apartment is perfectly furnished and there was nothing I lacked. The bed sheets were pressed and the towels ample. The guest binder was full of perfect (and accurate) ideas for dining and getting around. The location is ideal - Tesco through the alley, HoHo busses right outside and very close to Holyrood which was my main goal for my visit. The Royal Mile is busy and can be noisy, but it quiets down at night and I had no problem sleeping (in that wonderful bed!) All in all, I had a delightful stay and would recommend the SCA and the wonderful landlords, Sandra and David, to anyone looking for a charming stay in an adorable flat in the Old Town. Thank you for a fantastic visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sraassens
2 reviews
“Cosy en comfortable stay, everything you need!”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Real cosy and tidy apartment in the heart of Edingburgh. The owner is very helpful and desribes exactly where it is situated. Also nice tips on food & drinks & sightseeing in Edingburgh. Really nice powerful shower. Loved it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. So glad that you enjoyed yourselves (in spite of the rather mixed weather!) and hope to see you again in the future. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: An awful lot
Liked least: The stair well
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
susiestod...
todmorden
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem !”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in this amazing apartment for two nights , as my husband had managed to get tickets for the 6 nations at murrayfield - England v Scotland. We have stayed many times in this city previously in hotels - but this apt is in a fantastic location just off the Royal Mile . Beautifully furnished , compact and cosy - we loved it especially the extra homely touches - a bottle of fizz, fresh milk, biscuits , tea and coffee on arrival . Unfortunately we didn't meet the owners as they were away that weekend but their property is a hidden gem . All credit to them for such a lovely apartment in a great location - we particularly loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom as it was a fairly chilly wkd in Edinburgh especially as the game was a teatime kick off ! Thank you - we will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and personal homely touches
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing