We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great as always”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Annexe

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Hallways
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Building
Garden
The Annexe - Bedroom
The Annexe - Sitting Room (West)
The Annexe - Sitting Room (East)
The Annexe - Kitchen/Dining area
The Annexe - Bathroom
The Annexe - Bathroom - walk in shower area
The Annexe - Bathroom - full length bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graham D
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great as always”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a great place to stay within easy reach of Edinburgh town centre by using the Bus service 41 if you wish its only £1.50 each way and saves all the hassle of parking.
The Annex is immaculately kept and has a very comfortable bed and all the common amenities.
One of the best places we have stayed for convenience and comfort. Its a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very clean and spacious. Well appointed. Good parking. Didn't spend too much time in the unit during the day as was at the Fringe, but there is a lovely garden to relax in.

Property is a bit of a hike from the city centre (about an hour walk or a 15 to 20 minute bus ride), but is convenient to the airport. Bus service to the city centre is very convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, spacious, comfortable.
Liked least: It is a little further from the city centre than I would have liked, but the bus access was good.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place we've stayed in the UK”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Where do you start?! The Annexe is a beautiful property; Fiona & Al have thought of everything you could ever want and more - from towels to board games, to milk in the fridge, to bus timetables and tickets. The welcome when we arrived was second to none (thanks Al!) and all week we felt more like friends than paying guests, with regular chats about what we'd been up to, whenever we bumped into Al on the drive, while inside the property was complete privacy. It was the perfect spot to enjoy the Fringe atmosphere in Edinburgh and then jump on the bus back to peace and quiet. Definitely the best place we have stayed on holiday around the UK, cannot fault a thing; we will come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving to drive home...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed was so comfortable .
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2pomsWale...
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment but not equipped for home cooking”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were very pleased with The Annexe. It was in a quiet cul de sac and conveniently on the No 41 bus route that goes to Princes Street.
We were very comfortable. Two leather sofas to relax on in the evening and a large TV. The super king bed is so comfortable! The bathroom is modern with a reliable shower and a full sized bath. Lovely fluffy towels and a range of toiletries.
Fiona was, as previously stated in reviews, very generous with supplies. We had fresh fruit, cereals, milk, eggs, butter, bread and 6 little pots of jam as well as tea, coffee and sugar. 4 bus tickets were left so that we could have a return journey to Edinburgh. The flowers in the hall were beautiful.
The only drawback for us was that we had difficulty trying to cook as apart from a saucepan set and 2 small frying pans there were no basins and pyrex dishes to use in the combination microwave. A wok would be handy for stir frying. There are a lot of take aways nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed!
Liked least: lack of cooking facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
Thank you for your kind feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Annexe. I note your comments regarding your difficulties ‘trying to cook’.

The Annexe is equipped with a full size, 4-ring Halogen hob with a complete set of pans and utensils in addition to a Panasonic combi oven and microwave. With regards to this oven, we thank you for noting the lack of suitable pyrex dishes and can confirm that, with immediate effect, suitable dishes have been provided for use with this microwave/oven.

I am confident that this addresses your latter concern and look forward to welcoming you back to The Annexe at a future date.

Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing