We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent solid, peaceful, house.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teviotdale House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teviotdale House
Ranked #213 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent solid, peaceful, house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Staying during the Fringe festival it was full up and, despite, comings and goings we had quiet enjoyment during our two night stay. It is a manageable walk into the city but also lots of buses run along nearby Nicholson St, which is parallel to the nearest city bound street which has only one bus route. Parking was a bit of an issue with a CPZ outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    22
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
31
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for a long weekend break in late June. We chose this hotel because of the good comments on TA and we were not disappointed - we agree with everything posted about this hotel. The breakfast was freshly cooked and of a very high standard. The room was well appointed and the en suite was a masterpiece of design - I take my hat off to the person who managed to fit a quite spacious ensuite into the bedroom without compromising the bedroom space available. The host Marta was very pleasant and welcoming.

There is a bus stop only minutes away at the top of the street if you need to take transport into town but it's a flat walk and we made it, even fairly slowly, (soaking up the architecture) in about 20 minutes. There are two good pubs at the end of the road, again 2 minutes away and they serve good less expensive meals (compared to town prices) and a good pint of real ale. If you like indian food - there's an indian tapas restaurant on Infirmary Street called Mother India, which is well worth a visit but you will have to book as it is very popular - which speaks for itself. All the breads are light and fluffy and cooked fresh and the best we have tasted. You do feel a bit rushed through the courses but i would prefer to put it down to their efficiency in service rather than the feeling of wanting you out asap. Next to this is a very old pub, perhaps the smallest in Edinburgh, (Royal Oak?) they seemed to have buskers on each night starting from about 6pm and the quality of the performers was excellent and totally free - new musicians seemed to come and go all night. We enjoyed a sing along with visitors from different parts of the world and the atmosphere was good hearted and friendly. I remember with fondness Paul Simon songs sung in 3 different languages all at the same time. Edinburgh is a lovely city - enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krumblelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our family of four just returned from two excellent stays at Teviotdale House in Edinburgh, staying a total of four nights. The home is a well-maintained and beautifully furnished row house in a friendly, safe neighborhood very close to a great old pub, fish and chips shop and bus stop to the town center. Marta was a very gracious hostess and helped us plan our travels in Edinburgh. She and her staff served excellent breakfasts, including bacon and sausage from their local butcher and toast from home-baked bread. Our beds were very comfortable with crisp sheets and comfy pillows. One room was en-suite with a four poster bed and the other was a twin with private bathroom, both with immaculately clean and well-lit facilities. The showers were great! We booked our second visit after the first and will return to Teviotdale House next time we are in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: If you have special requests or needs, just ask Marta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunusstein, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed in this guest house for 2 nights and found it nice and clean, with friendly, helpful staff and a good breakfast. It is located just 3 minutes away from the bus stop to the city and the bus ride will take a mere10 minutes. Good value for money. A slight disadvantage: no en-suite bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speyside_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta-at-Teviotdale, Owner at Teviotdale House, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Regarding the above we would like to point out that most of our rooms are en-suite. There are only 2 bedrooms which are not en-suite. Each of these 2 rooms has a private bathroom outside the room, for its exclusive use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here in April when having a weekend break in Edinburgh.
This guesthouse is a wonderful place to stay, the rooms are lovely and the home cooked meals are fantastic. Alan & Marta make wonderful hosts.
Although set in a quiet street, the city centre is not far away, and in fact it's a really nice walk through the Meadows to get to the heart of the city.
We would thoroughly recommend staying here and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the four-poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DodeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Ashdene House
#125 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#94 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teviotdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teviotdale House

Property: Teviotdale House
Address: Grange Loan 53, Edinburgh EH9 2ER, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $96 - $154
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Teviotdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teviotdale House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing