We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very clean and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very clean and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

very clean, comfortable, the dorms had their own shower and toilet (very convenient!) good food services, very nice kitchen, nice youthful environment.

the only negative aspect is that even though it is quite expensive for a hostel it doesn't provide any free services. One has to buy internet credit, for one pound per hour, something that I find completely inappropriate nowadays. What is more, even though the sheets are for free, if you don't have your own towel you would have to pay for one. Last, if you have trouble with noise while sleeping, I wouldn't suggest a room or dorm on the street, as the Leith Walk -the street that the hostel is on- is very noise all night long.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    135
    55
    6
    10
See reviews for
45
35
86
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Having stayed in countless hostels all over the world this was one of the best if not a little expensive, but I guess you get what you pay for. Rooms were spotless, showers were the best I experienced, beds were excellent, staff were superb, location is pretty central no need for buses, restaurants, cinema, theatre, pubs, shopping all with easy walking.
A really great hostel and i will definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PP29th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Nice and new and in a great location for walking Edinburgh, Scotland. If you need an affordable place to stay, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamthornsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Good clean hostel with great family room for me and my family of 4. The time we visited the staff were very helpful and polite but the lack of a decent sized kitchen for preparing meals was a bit of a drawback. At the time we visited there were large groups of school groups using the YHA and it was very busy in the members kitchen. Busy to the point that as one person finished with a bowl and it was washed it was being used by someone else?

The upstairs restaurant appears to have taken priority in terms of space compared to the members kitchen which is a real shame

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hostel definately deserves its 5 stars, i stayed in a 2 bed room with my mum and we were pleasantly surpised that it was a twin room, and lovely and spacious too. We had great nights sleep. The room and rest of the hostel were very clean and inviting. I was impressed with the facilities and the staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luceeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#15 of 205 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 205 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
New Town
Code Hostel
Code Hostel
#2 of 205 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#46 of 205 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Property: Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
Address: 9 Haddington Place | Off Leith Walk, Edinburgh EH7 4AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $55 - $148
Hotel Class:5 star — Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is located in the heart of Scotland's capital, offering 5 star budget accommodation with 271 beds. This busy youth hostel offers a range of multi-share and private rooms, all en-suite. Premium rooms are also available, taking hostelling to a new level with TV and coffee making facilities. Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is also an ideal location for those looking for group accommodation in Edinburgh. The youth hostel has a self-catering kitchen and dining room. Our licensed cafe, Haddington Place, offers tea, coffee and cake as well as snacks and meals throughout the day. Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is ideal for individuals, groups or families looking for quality, budget accommodation. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Central Youth Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing