We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #97 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Car park charges and breakfast que ridiculous. Staff pleasant and rooms clean. Traffic noise a problem

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie85adair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Edinburgh Haymarket Premier Inn.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Margaret Auld
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,247 of 2,959 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Staff all really friendly and willing to help when needed assistance regarding the children. Bit of a walk into town but a four year old and two year old made it there and back everyday.

Room Tip: If you have children ask to face onto the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kindest Regards

Margaret Auld
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed here over the Easter break and was not sure what to find (not booked by me) but how pleased I was. The rooms were spotless, a good bar and restuarant with exellent staff nothing was too much trouble. So easy for the train station and the sites. Will certainly return with wife for a weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakHgte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Edinburgh City Centre Haymarket Premier Inn.

I am delighted that your room was spotless and that nothing was too much trouble for the staff!

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Margaret Auld
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here Good Friday to Easter Monday for a weekend break and to see the Panda's. Got what we thought was a good deal on Superbreak including return train fares to/ from London and accommodation.

I expected the location would be a little more central but that in itself is not much of a problem. It's easy to get to Haymarket station and buses run nearby. Most of the action in the centre of town starts about 10 mins walk away. (Or about £4 taxi ride in an evening).

The whole of Edinburgh looks a mess at the moment with the tram lines being laid but that said it does close off a lot of areas making them better for pedestrians walking about.

One very good thing about the location which I dont think would have been the case in the more touristy central area was the availability of very good food at excellent prices.

On the first night we ate at the Rutland which is central. They have a £20 for 2 courses and a drink (happy to change wine for beer) which we enjoyed a lot.

Second night we ate at the Le Marche Francais just around the corner on Maitland St. In the daytime it's a delicatessen but in the evening they turn it into a restaurant. I did see a £16.95 for 3 courses and an aperatif online and this was not available when we got there. He did it for us anyway and we both had Kir Royal's with real champagne. The food was good however the selection for each course was from a limited selection off the menu.

The final night we ate at Papoli, virtutally across the road from the hotel and this was probably the best of all at £12 for 3 courses each and the selection was effectively full menu with the odd surcharge here and there. We enjoyed the food a lot for its quality and taste and the wine at £9 a bottle was very reasonable. The portobello mushroom starter and Chicken with parma ham main were especially nice.

Next door to this is a place called chop - chop, an oriental eatery. What we didnt like about this is that the "unlimited" selection for £19.50 appeared to be unlimited volume of a "limited" selection of the menu. I didnt fancy eating dim sum and deep fried chicken strips all night.

Breakfast in the hotel was good. The sausages tasted a bit rusky but the vegetarian ones made to order made up for it.

Bus service to the zoo is quick and efficient, £3.50 buys a day ticket for all bus services and the trip there only takes about 15 minutes.

The room we got was good, I had heard comments on here that some rooms can be noisy lower down facing the road and we got top floor facing the car park. Clean and tidy.

The only downside were the lifts always seemed to take an age to arrive and the wifi was very slow, in fact too slow to use.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alandnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Edinburgh City Centre Haymarket Premier Inn.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh!

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Margaret Auld
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

had a great night staying here staff very friendly and helpful,rooms very clean excellent location

Room Tip: had a family room large room with double and two single beds very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Edinburgh Haymarket Premier Inn.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Margaret Auld
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,310 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,241 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Edinburgh

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $110 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing