We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice little Bed & Breakfast close to Princess Street” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Oslo Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice little Bed & Breakfast close to Princess Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at his hotel end of June just before the Bon Jovi concert when more og less all hotels were full. I would probably rather call the place a nice Bed & Breakfast in a townhouse building.

The couple running this place is really nice and very helpful. We had 2 rooms that were very different in size but they worked out fine for what we exprected. Only negative was the waterpressure in the shower which could have been better. There is no elevator so ask for a room on the lower lever if you mind stairs, our room was all the way on the top:-)

Its a 10 minutes walk away from Princess Street and there are plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby. Breakfast was full scottish and ok.

If you expect a 3 star hotel you might get a little dissapointed as some reviewers have been. If you want a nice bed & breakfast with a personal touch you will be just fine and the place will live up to exprectations

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gode_Reisetips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    81
    35
    19
    17
See reviews for
35
64
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

The people running the place are absolutely lovely, which is why I hate writing this, but I must tell the truth. The location was very central to all the sights. The room was very small - not a problem for me, but I really think they should let people know this when booking, as my parents would never have been able to cope in a room like that. The building and decor of the hotel was really lovely. The hotel does have free wi-fi. Breakfast was ok. The room decor was standard. The bed was not very comfortable. The shower was ok. The bathroom in general just need a few hooks, rails or selves so you could put your stuff in places, rather than on the floor. The toilet paper was as rough as sandpaper. The biggest grip I had was the cleaning - our room wasn't cleaned at all whilst we stayed there. They didn't even replace or clean the cups we used for tea! The used sachets of body wash were left in the shower, or placed back with the unused ones. When they 'made' the bed, the bed spread was left in a heap at the foot of the bed. For the price, and the fact this is supposed to be a three star place, I don't find this acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D1P1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paperrose, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thank you for your review
I`m sorry you felt there was a problem with cleaning.
and i`m shocked to hear that your room seem like it hadn`t been cleaned
i wish you had said something at the time and we could have sorted that issue ASAP, as all rooms on stays have full services.
Including remaking beds/cleaning of bathrooms and bedroom/cups and all areas cleaned/Toiletries replaced.
Only when a Guest has a *do not disturb* sign on door is it any different.

We try to keep a high standard of cleaning as so many have commented on other sites.
I hope that you will reconsider and try us again in the future

Regards
Abbey hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

The management and staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and provided a very good standard of service. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. An excellent full Scottish breakfast was provided. The hotel is within walking distance of Princes Street, also Waverley train and bus stations. All in all, I would strongly recommend the Abbey Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed for a week at the Abbey Hotel and had a great time there. The location is perfect, the staff is very friendly, good Scotish breakfast, great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danukzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

B&B located on a beautiful road and had a grand entrance, lovely decorated hall way and staircase. Upon entering the room, unfortunately a little disappointing. Aged decor and bed linen in need of updating and modernising to be in keeping with the rest of the B&B, bathroom was clean and modern except for a rusty radiator. Breakfast was tasty and a wide variety was available. 10 minute walk to princess street, useful for shopping. Old town a further 5 minute walk but well worth it.

Room Tip: Visit the underground Bramble Bar & Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frannyremo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: 9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $85 - $295
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant tree-lined terrace, overlooking the Firth of Forth, is the Abbey Hotel (formerly Greenside Hotel). Designed by the renowned architect William Playfair as a family town house for a wealthy merchant, this is an traditional Georgian building, built in 1820, with many of fine original features still in place. ***NEWLY REFURBISHED RECEPTION & PUBLIC AREAS****PLEASE NOTE RECEPTION IS NOT OPEN 24hrs.*Latest Check-In Time is 10:30PM - Should you have an unscheduled travel delay please call the Hotel to arrange a later check-in.The hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, being a 10 minute walk from the bustling cosmopolitan heart of the City.Only 10 minutes to Princes Street and Ocean Terminal for the Royal Yacht Brittania. Close to Playhouse Theatre (5 minutes walk), Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street (with it's famous gardens and views of Edinburgh Castle).Access to Edinburgh's International Conference Centre, the Airport and motorway networks is very convenient, and Waverley train and St Andrew Square bus station are close by. Our welcoming en-suite rooms offer the discerning traveller all the comforts expected, including Freeview Digital colour television, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer and telephone.****Free Wi-Fi (Internet access is available in all bedrooms), also lap-top hire if required********Snacks available within the hotel, upon request*********Local Golf can be arranged*****Most of the hotel's refurbished rooms (new soft furnishings include DUVETS on guest beds, although blankets also provided, if preferred) provide wonderful views over Royal Terrace gardens and out to the Firth of Forth, or the tranquility of our own private gardens to the rear.Edinburgh has all that the visitor could wish for. With many fine art galleries, museums and theatres, a cultural presence is never far away. History is reflected in the Royal Mile, the Palace of Holyrood House and the Castle, all contrasting with the elegant terraces of the 'new town'.As a base for touring, Edinburgh is unbeatable.There is a wide variety of local shopping facilities, including Harvey Nichols, restaurants and bars. Just a few minute's walk from the Omni Centre which boasts a Warner Village Cinema , bars, restaurants, nightclub and comedy venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenside Hotel Edinburgh
Abbey Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing