We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 128
View deal
Booking.com
USD 145
View deal
StayForLong
USD 123
View deal
Hotels.comUSD 128
PricelineUSD 145
Trip.comUSD 134
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
475
180
38
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
475
180
38
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar complimentary sherry four poster bed honor bar city centre the main house day ticket frequent buses free car park lovely hotel full scottish breakfast visiting edinburgh breakfast was excellent top floor easy access lovely room stayed here for two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2020

Having been previously shielded in the Covid crisis, I chose this hotel for its five star cleanliness and comfort ratings and it did not disappoint.! It was very clean with a good disinfectant regime, prominent hand sanitiser stations throughout, social distance markings in the foyer and a mask-wearing policy in all public areas.
The manager was very helpful, pleasant and welcoming and service was excellent. Our room was large and very comfortable and en-suite facilities were sparkling.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again and thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank patriciatI8182VY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal McDonald, General Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Hi,

Thank you so much staying with us and for taking the time to review Kildonan Lodge Hotel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

We were staying here after dropping our daughter at university. The Canadian manager was very amenable not only letting us check in early but had read my email regarding room request and had a bent over backwards to accommodate us. We had a room in the Annex which was very comfortable. The beds were lovely and the shower was invigorating. There is a separate lounge and conservatory in the Annex along with board games and books which was a real bonus. The lounge in main building has an honesty bar and is a lovely feature room. We had Full breakfast which is served in the front room of the main house again a lovely room. Breakfast was lovely well presented and not at all greasy. This will definitely be our go to hotel when visiting our daughter. Can’t recommend this enough. Real old fashioned personal service.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank clarem37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal McDonald, General Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Hi,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with the Kildonan team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2020

Stayed during the Covid Crisis. The Kildonan put on a top class service when other more expensive hotels just used it as an excuse to drop standards.
First rate breakfast. Great service from Sean in the front office. Good location - a bracing walk to the castle (20 mins) along the most cafe'd, fast fooded, street I have ever seen! A fine Victorian home with splendid original features. Car Park.
Dont worry there are frequent buses to and from the City. Great City by the way.
Top Tip: Pay extra for the better rooms - its worth it. I got lost on the SatNav watch it.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal McDonald, General Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review.

Both Maggie and all of us at the Kildonan really appreciate it.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020

Our stay was so comfortable and relaxing - it felt like a real home from home. Maggie made us most welcome and was a fantastic host. The breakfast was excellent - the selection of fruit I was given was fantastic and the cooked breakfast was very tasty and of good quality. We stayed in the lodge which was very peaceful. There was plenty of parking which is a bonus so near the city centre, and we found excellent restaurants just 10 - 15 mins walk away.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnjarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal McDonald, General Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The Kildonan team really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

Kildonan Lodge is highly recommended....property is described as Victorian and it is as described....beautiful old property and spotlessly clean. Sean (Manager) and Maggie (Owner) were exceptional - so friendly, and made our stay perfect. From the friendly welcome on arrival until departure everything was just brilliant .... room, breakfast and location all great for us. Location is approx 2 mile out of town but walkable and if you don’t want to walk there are plenty of buses on a regular basis. Varied choice for breakfast...and all great! Covid 19 restrictions adhered to strictly yet not intrusive or detrimental to your stay. Would really recommend the experience......thank you!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank theeslers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal McDonald, General Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review.
Both Maggie and all of us at the Kildonan really appreciate it.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews