We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Hotel is in good condition and the position is very good if you want to reach the old town center by the bus or even with a nice walk of 20 minutes.The hotel provides any kind of assistence and service to make the stay a nice pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gianluca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you so much staying with us and for taking the time to review Kildonan Lodge Hotel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed here for three nights in September and we really enjoyed our stay. Crystal and the staff were so helpful. Crystal helped us with the bus route, having change for the bus and providing a converter because a piece of luggage was lost for three days. The Lodge's decor was very pretty and breakfast was wonderful. The location was also very convenient to the bus route, it ran in front of the lodge , and to Edinburgh.
The only cons: our location in the lower level was sometimes a little noisy and warm with no air conditioning. I would also recommend that a extension cord be part of your luggage. We stayed two weeks in the U.K. and none of the bathrooms had receptacles. An extension cord would be very helpful if you use blow dryers or curling irons.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LisaLynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Kildonan Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write up such a lovely review. It was no trouble at all helping with bus routes and change for the bus! We are all delighted that you had a lovely stay.

Sorry to hear that you had trouble finding the extension cord in your room. We do have them in all our rooms either next to the mirror in the room or next to the bed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

This is the seventh or eighth time we’ve stayed here which speaks for itself. Staff are like old friends now. They can’t do enough to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. It is in a perfect location with bus stops practically on the doorstep which means you can park your car on arrival and forget about it ‘till it’s time to leave. Rooms are excellent, breakfasts are delicious. There is a very comfortable lounge with an ‘honesty’ bar. If you’re planning a hassle free trip to Edinburgh and want a cosy friendly hotel look no further. Already looking forward to our next visit in December.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and for choosing the Kildonan as your home away from home! The Kildonan team really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel where all the staff was very friendly, our room was very clean and comfortable .. It was also close by to the bus stops to allow us easy access into Edinburgh, so no car rental was needed. We also enjoyed the breakfast on several mornings and again the staff was very friendly and welcoming and the food delicious.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. Both Maggie and all of us at the Kildonan really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed the delicious food and your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

The perfect place to stay when in Edinburgh spotlessly clean comfortable and homely
Staff all very friendly and helpfull. Lovely breakfast. And we loved the decor so in keeping with the age of the building Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26iant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The Kildonan team really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Kildonan team friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Chrystal


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,026 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,029 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,309 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Edinburgh

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $131 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing