We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
415
167
35
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
167
35
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar complimentary sherry four poster bed spa bath city centre shortbread biscuits day ticket bus service main road minute bus ride lovely hotel small hotel free car park leave the car the main hotel visiting edinburgh excellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed here for three nights in September and we really enjoyed our stay. Crystal and the staff were so helpful. Crystal helped us with the bus route, having change for the bus and providing a converter because a piece of luggage was lost for three days. The Lodge's decor was very pretty and breakfast was wonderful. The location was also very convenient to the bus route, it ran in front of the lodge , and to Edinburgh.
The only cons: our location in the lower level was sometimes a little noisy and warm with no air conditioning. I would also recommend that a extension cord be part of your luggage. We stayed two weeks in the U.K. and none of the bathrooms had receptacles. An extension cord would be very helpful if you use blow dryers or curling irons.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LisaLynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Kildonan Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write up such a lovely review. It was no trouble at all helping with bus routes and change for the bus! We are all delighted that you had a lovely stay.

Sorry to hear that you had trouble finding the extension cord in your room. We do have them in all our rooms either next to the mirror in the room or next to the bed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

This is the seventh or eighth time we’ve stayed here which speaks for itself. Staff are like old friends now. They can’t do enough to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. It is in a perfect location with bus stops practically on the doorstep which means you can park your car on arrival and forget about it ‘till it’s time to leave. Rooms are excellent, breakfasts are delicious. There is a very comfortable lounge with an ‘honesty’ bar. If you’re planning a hassle free trip to Edinburgh and want a cosy friendly hotel look no further. Already looking forward to our next visit in December.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and for choosing the Kildonan as your home away from home! The Kildonan team really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel where all the staff was very friendly, our room was very clean and comfortable .. It was also close by to the bus stops to allow us easy access into Edinburgh, so no car rental was needed. We also enjoyed the breakfast on several mornings and again the staff was very friendly and welcoming and the food delicious.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. Both Maggie and all of us at the Kildonan really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed the delicious food and your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

The perfect place to stay when in Edinburgh spotlessly clean comfortable and homely
Staff all very friendly and helpfull. Lovely breakfast. And we loved the decor so in keeping with the age of the building Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26iant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The Kildonan team really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Kildonan team friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Chrystal


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last night, was upgraded to a four poster room with a jacuzzi bath! Unfortunately I arrived late and was leaving early so didn’t have chance to use the lounge area but it looked so cozy!! Food was fantastic, staff lovely and the bed was sooooo comfy!! Would definitely stay again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank poppetrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much staying with us and for taking the time to review Kildonan Lodge Hotel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the upgraded four poster room!
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews